Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Final Cut Pro has no free tier, only a 30-day trial, then $299.99 once or $12.99 a month bundled with Motion, Compressor and Logic Pro, and it runs on Mac and iPad only. Shotcut is free forever with no paid tier at all, on Linux, macOS and Windows alike, reading a wide range of formats through FFmpeg with no account needed. Final Cut Pro trades platform reach for render speed tuned to Apple silicon and a timeline that closes its own gaps. Shotcut trades polish for costing nothing anywhere it runs.
Apple's editor, bought once or monthly
A free desktop video editor, open source
Final Cut Pro | Shotcut | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $12.99 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
Apple's editor, bought once or monthly
Final Cut Pro cuts video on Mac and iPad with the magnetic timeline that people either move to it for or bounce off, and it is tuned hard for Apple silicon, which is why it renders quickly on machines that struggle elsewhere. Apple now sells it two ways: inside a subscription bundle alongside Motion, Compressor and Logic Pro, or as the one-time purchase it has always been. The subscription is where new premium content lands. Nothing here runs on Windows, and no project opens anywhere else.
Our note
Buy it outright if you only want the editor, because $299.99 pays for itself against $129 a year inside three years and the app keeps updating. Take the subscription if Motion and Logic Pro are things you would otherwise buy separately, since that is where the bundle stops being a worse deal and starts being a better one.
A free desktop video editor, open source
Shotcut is a free desktop video editor that has been maintained for well over a decade and runs on Linux, macOS and Windows alike. It reads a wide range of formats because FFmpeg is doing the work underneath, and it asks for no account at any point. The interface takes a session to settle into. Nothing is upsold later.
Pick Final Cut Pro on a Mac where render speed and the magnetic timeline's way of managing gaps actually matter to the working day. Buy it outright at $299.99, which its own guidance says pays for itself against a year of the subscription within three years. It runs on nothing but Mac and iPad, so a Windows or Linux machine cannot open it at all.
Pick Shotcut when the budget is nothing and a real desktop timeline is still needed, particularly on Linux, where Final Cut Pro is not an option at all. It has been maintained for well over a decade, with no watermark, no account and no upsell at any point. The interface takes a session to settle into, and anybody expecting one-click social exports will be happier in a browser tool.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | macOS, iOS | macOS, Windows, Linux |
|---|
| Covers | Video Editing | Video Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
This is the answer when the budget is nothing and the work is real, and the interface is the price you pay instead. DaVinci Resolve's free build is more capable if your machine can run it.