Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Final Cut Pro has no free tier, only a 30-day trial, then $12.99 a month through Apple Creator Studio or $299.99 once, and it runs on Mac and iPad only. Lightworks gives away the whole editor free with no time limit, just a capped export resolution, and runs on Windows, macOS and Linux as a full three-platform release. Final Cut Pro's interface is tuned for people already comfortable on a Mac. Lightworks' interface comes from broadcast and cinema editing before the web existed, which means the first afternoon is spent learning it either way.
Apple's editor, bought once or monthly
A film editor with a free tier and no time limit
Final Cut Pro | Lightworks | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $12.99 | From $13.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API |
Apple's editor, bought once or monthly
Final Cut Pro cuts video on Mac and iPad with the magnetic timeline that people either move to it for or bounce off, and it is tuned hard for Apple silicon, which is why it renders quickly on machines that struggle elsewhere. Apple now sells it two ways: inside a subscription bundle alongside Motion, Compressor and Logic Pro, or as the one-time purchase it has always been. The subscription is where new premium content lands. Nothing here runs on Windows, and no project opens anywhere else.
Our note
Buy it outright if you only want the editor, because $299.99 pays for itself against $129 a year inside three years and the app keeps updating. Take the subscription if Motion and Logic Pro are things you would otherwise buy separately, since that is where the bundle stops being a worse deal and starts being a better one.
A film editor with a free tier and no time limit
Lightworks has been cutting feature films since long before the web, and the free tier is the whole editor at a capped export resolution with no trial clock on it. Paying raises the export ceiling and opens the formats a delivery spec actually asks for. Three ways to pay sit on the same page, including a single payment for anybody who does not want another monthly line. The interface comes from broadcast rather than from the web, so the first afternoon is spent learning it.
Pick Final Cut Pro on a Mac for the magnetic timeline and render speed tuned to Apple silicon. There is no free tier, only a 30-day trial, so budget for $299.99 outright or $12.99 a month through Apple Creator Studio, which also bundles Motion, Compressor and Logic Pro. It runs on nothing but Mac and iPad, ruling it out entirely for Windows or Linux.
Pick Lightworks if a professional timeline without a subscription is wanted and a keyboard-first interface from broadcast editing is an acceptable learning curve. The free tier is genuinely the whole editor, capped only on export resolution, with no trial clock counting down. Create is $13.99 a month if the export ceiling needs raising, and it runs on Windows, macOS and Linux, which Final Cut Pro cannot touch at all.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | macOS, iOS | macOS, Windows, Linux |
|---|
| Covers | Video Editing | Video Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Take the free tier seriously here, because it is the whole editor rather than a crippled demo and the export ceiling is the only real limit. If the interface does not click within a week it never will, and DaVinci Resolve gives away more for the same money.