Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Drip has no free tier at all, starting at $39 a month with automation built around carts and purchases specifically. Omnisend has a genuine free plan instead, 500 emails and 250 contacts, and Standard starts at $11.20 a month with 30 percent off for paying three months upfront, well below Drip's entry price, though that rate rises with contact count and reverts higher once the introductory period ends. Omnisend also sends SMS from the same automation, which Drip's feature list does not mention.
Drip | Omnisend | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $39 | From $11.20 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | None |
Ecommerce email priced on active people
Drip is an ecommerce marketing platform that bills on how many people are active in your account and how much you send, rather than on a feature ladder. Everybody gets everything, which removes the usual argument about which tier has automations. It is aimed at stores, so a writer with a plain newsletter is paying for behaviour tracking they will never wire up.
Our note
Single-plan pricing is the appeal and the risk: nothing is withheld, and the bill moves on its own as the list grows. Model it at twice your current list size before committing, because that is the number that will arrive.
Email and SMS for people selling products
Omnisend is built around a shop rather than a newsletter: abandoned-cart flows, product recommendations in the email, and SMS on the same automation. For a creator selling merch or digital products through Shopify it does the job that a general email tool leaves to plugins. The free plan is 500 emails a month, which is a test rather than a starting point.
Our note
Pick Drip if the appeal of a single plan with nothing gated behind a higher tier matters more than the lowest possible entry price. It starts at $39 a month with no free tier, priced on active people and volume rather than contacts, and ties revenue straight back to the email that produced a sale.
Pick Omnisend for the free plan alone if a store is just starting out, then for SMS running on the same automation as email once it is time to pay, from $11.20 a month before contact count pushes the price up. The free tier's 500 emails a month is enough to test the abandoned-cart and post-purchase flows before committing to either tool.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Yes |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Email Marketing & Automation, Digital Products & Storefronts | Email Marketing & Automation, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
The comparison the page invites is Klaviyo, and on price it wins that argument at small list sizes. The real question is whether your store is on a platform it integrates with, which decides how much of the automation actually fires.