Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Drip's single plan starts at $39 a month, with automation tuned specifically to ecommerce behaviour like carts and purchases. Moosend's Pro plan is far cheaper, $7 a month billed annually or $9 paid monthly, and also puts automation on its one paid tier rather than staging it across four, though it is priced on subscriber count for a broader range of senders. Neither has a permanent free plan: Moosend runs a 30-day trial with no card, longer than Drip's 14 days, and Moosend states that account data survives once the trial ends.
Drip | Moosend | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $39 | From $7 |
| Pricing model | Free trial, then paid | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | 30 days |
| API | Yes |
Ecommerce email priced on active people
Drip is an ecommerce marketing platform that bills on how many people are active in your account and how much you send, rather than on a feature ladder. Everybody gets everything, which removes the usual argument about which tier has automations. It is aimed at stores, so a writer with a plain newsletter is paying for behaviour tracking they will never wire up.
Our note
Single-plan pricing is the appeal and the risk: nothing is withheld, and the bill moves on its own as the list grows. Model it at twice your current list size before committing, because that is the number that will arrive.
Only on this side
Email marketing with automation on every plan
Moosend puts automation, segmentation and landing pages on its single paid tier rather than staging them across four, so the price rises with list size instead of with features. Subscribers are the meter. A thirty-day trial runs without a card, which is longer than most of this category offers and long enough to migrate a list and actually send. There is no permanent free plan underneath it, so the trial is a deadline rather than a fallback.
Pick Drip for a store specifically, where revenue attribution ties a sale back to the email that produced it, something general-purpose automation like Moosend's does not describe. It costs more, from $39 a month against Moosend's $7 to $9, but that price includes ecommerce behaviour tracking Moosend is not built around.
Pick Moosend for automation, segmentation and landing pages at a fraction of Drip's price, especially if the list is not tied to an ecommerce store. Take the 30-day trial seriously and migrate a real list during it, since there is no permanent free plan underneath once it ends, only the option to upgrade or buy credits.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Email Marketing & Automation, Digital Products & Storefronts | Email Marketing & Automation, Newsletter & Email |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The absence of a free plan is the thing to notice, because everything else here is priced like a tool that has one. Take the trial seriously and migrate a real list during it, since a half-hearted look will not tell you whether the automation is what you needed.
Only on this side