Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Draft2Digital charges $20 once and keeps roughly 10 percent of the retail price on every sale, forever, with no other fee. StreetLib charges $99 a year or $299 once and states that the author keeps 85 percent of net revenue, a figure computed on a different base than Draft2Digital's cut, so the two percentages are not directly comparable. StreetLib's own numbers put the crossover at roughly $1,000 a year in net revenue: below that, Draft2Digital's lower upfront cost wins; above it, StreetLib's stated math favours paying the fee instead.
One upload, every ebook store
Ebook distribution that states its cut up front
Draft2Digital | StreetLib | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $20 | From $99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | One-time purchase | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing (they differ) | One-time purchase | Annual only |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
One upload, every ebook store
Draft2Digital takes one manuscript and lists it at Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and a long tail of libraries, which is the alternative to keeping an account at each. Its formatting and print-on-demand are included rather than sold. The commission is on top of whatever the store already takes.
Our note
Going wide through Draft2Digital and staying in KDP Select are mutually exclusive, and that is the actual decision. Select pays page reads from Kindle Unlimited; wide distribution pays from stores Amazon does not own. Do not start both.
Ebook distribution that states its cut up front
StreetLib distributes ebooks and audiobooks to the stores an author cannot easily reach one by one, and is unusual in charging for the service rather than only taking a share. It publishes what it keeps, which is more than most aggregators do. For an author already selling through Amazon alone, the question is whether the other stores add up to more than the fee.
Our note
Pick Draft2Digital for a book earning under roughly $1,000 a year in net revenue, by StreetLib's own comparison, since the $20 one-time fee costs less than either of StreetLib's plans until sales pass that point. It also covers many more stores from one upload, where StreetLib's own store list differs by plan and needs checking against where you actually want to sell.
Pick StreetLib once a title, or several, sell past that crossover, since $99 a year or $299 once for a lifetime plan is cheaper than Draft2Digital's ongoing 10 percent cut at real volume, by StreetLib's own stated math. The lifetime option suits a backlist that sells slowly over years rather than a single new release.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 10% of what you earn | 15% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Against Draft2Digital, which charges nothing upfront and takes a larger share, this is the better arithmetic for anybody already selling. Work out your annual net revenue: below roughly a thousand dollars a year, paying nothing and giving up more is cheaper.