Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Draft2Digital costs $20 once and then keeps roughly 10 percent of every sale, forever. PublishDrive flips that: free for one book, or $13.99 a month billed annually for three books and 50 channels, and every tier keeps 0 percent of royalties no matter how much a title earns. Draft2Digital wins on a book that sells modestly; PublishDrive's own numbers put the crossover for its Starter plan at around $1,700 a year in sales.
Draft2Digital | PublishDrive | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $20 | From $13.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | One-time purchase | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | One-time purchase | Annual only |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API |
One upload, every ebook store
Draft2Digital takes one manuscript and lists it at Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and a long tail of libraries, which is the alternative to keeping an account at each. Its formatting and print-on-demand are included rather than sold. The commission is on top of whatever the store already takes.
Our note
Going wide through Draft2Digital and staying in KDP Select are mutually exclusive, and that is the actual decision. Select pays page reads from Kindle Unlimited; wide distribution pays from stores Amazon does not own. Do not start both.
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
PublishDrive charges a subscription and then takes nothing from sales, which inverts the usual aggregator deal and pays off the moment a book sells steadily. One upload reaches over 50 retailers and a library network most authors never get near. Plans are capped by title count, so a back catalogue costs more than a single book does.
Our note
Pick Draft2Digital for a book that is new or sells modestly, since the $20 one-time fee and roughly 10 percent commission cost less than a subscription until sales pass roughly $1,700 a year, by PublishDrive's own math. It also handles paperback distribution and payment splitting for co-authors, both included in the same flat fee.
Pick PublishDrive once a title, or a few titles, sell steadily past that crossover, since every plan keeps 0 percent of royalties and the subscription becomes the only cost. Starter is $13.99 a month billed annually for 3 books and 50 channels, backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee, and a single book that barely sells is better served by the free tier or by Draft2Digital instead.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 10% of what you earn | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Draft2Digital takes 10 percent and costs nothing up front, so it wins on a book that barely sells and loses on one that does. Work out your annual royalties before choosing: the crossover for the Starter plan is somewhere around $1,700 a year in sales.