Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Draft2Digital reaches Kobo, alongside Apple Books, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and more, from a single $20 one-time upload, but its roughly 10 percent commission sits on top of whatever Kobo itself would otherwise pay directly. Kobo Writing Life publishes directly to Kobo's own readers for nothing instead, paying up to 70 percent of the list price with no exclusivity required and a direct route into OverDrive's public libraries. Selling on Kobo alone favours going direct; selling everywhere at once favours the aggregator.
Draft2Digital | Kobo Writing Life | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $20 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | One-time purchase | Free |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | One-time purchase | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
One upload, every ebook store
Draft2Digital takes one manuscript and lists it at Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and a long tail of libraries, which is the alternative to keeping an account at each. Its formatting and print-on-demand are included rather than sold. The commission is on top of whatever the store already takes.
Our note
Going wide through Draft2Digital and staying in KDP Select are mutually exclusive, and that is the actual decision. Select pays page reads from Kindle Unlimited; wide distribution pays from stores Amazon does not own. Do not start both.
Only on this side
Publish to Kobo and keep your rights
Kobo Writing Life puts a book in front of Rakuten Kobo's readers, and through OverDrive into public libraries, without asking for exclusivity in return. Publishing costs nothing and the author sets the price. For anybody whose first shelf is Amazon this is the obvious second one, and the library route is the part Amazon has no answer to.
Pick Draft2Digital to reach Kobo, Apple Books, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and a long tail of libraries from one upload, with formatting and paperback distribution included for a single $20 fee. The roughly 10 percent commission is the price of not managing five separate publisher dashboards, and it cannot be combined with KDP Select's exclusivity requirement.
Pick Kobo Writing Life to publish directly to Kobo alone and keep up to 70 percent of the list price, since that band beats what reaches an author once Draft2Digital's roughly 10 percent commission comes off the same Kobo sale. It costs nothing, asks for no exclusivity, and its OverDrive library route is worth reading about before setting a price, since the royalty band depends on it.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 10% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
There is no reason not to be on it if you are already selling elsewhere, since it costs nothing and asks for nothing in return. Treat it as a second channel rather than a first: the reader numbers are Amazon's game, and the library route is where Kobo earns its place.