Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Draft2Digital charges $20 once and roughly 10 percent of each sale to push one manuscript into Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and library ebook platforms, with formatting and paperback printing included. IngramSpark costs nothing to set up but prices printing per copy, based on trim size, page count and binding, and its real product is getting a physical book into the catalogue bookshops and libraries actually order from, on wholesale terms Amazon's own printing does not offer. One is built for ebook reach with a flat cut; the other is built for print distribution with real per-copy costs to calculate.
Draft2Digital | IngramSpark | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $20 | Not listed |
| Pricing model (they differ) | One-time purchase | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | One-time purchase | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
One upload, every ebook store
Draft2Digital takes one manuscript and lists it at Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and a long tail of libraries, which is the alternative to keeping an account at each. Its formatting and print-on-demand are included rather than sold. The commission is on top of whatever the store already takes.
Our note
Going wide through Draft2Digital and staying in KDP Select are mutually exclusive, and that is the actual decision. Select pays page reads from Kindle Unlimited; wide distribution pays from stores Amazon does not own. Do not start both.
Only on this side
Print a book into the retail supply chain
IngramSpark is how an independent author gets a physical book into the catalogue bookshops and libraries actually order from, which Amazon's own printing does not do on the same terms. Setup costs nothing now, print is charged per copy, and the distribution reach is the reason to be here rather than the interface. Returns, discounts and trim sizes are decisions with real money attached, and the site is better at listing them than at explaining them.
Pick Draft2Digital for ebook reach without an account at five different stores, since $20 once plus roughly 10 percent a sale covers Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and libraries with formatting included. It cannot be combined with KDP Select, which requires exclusivity, so committed Kindle Unlimited authors are choosing between the two rather than adding this on top.
Pick IngramSpark once a physical book needs to be orderable by an actual bookshop or library, which is the thing that separates it from Amazon's own print on demand. Setup is free, but run the print cost calculator before finalising a page count, since trim size and paper choice move the per-copy cost enough to decide whether the book is profitable, and the wholesale discount and returns policy are what a bookshop actually checks before ordering.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 10% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Use the print cost calculator before finalising a page count, because trim size and paper choices move the unit cost enough to decide whether the book is profitable. Most authors list on both IngramSpark and KDP, using one for reach and the other for Amazon margin.