Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
DoorFee's free plan charges 10 percent with no monthly cost, the same rate as Skool's $9 a month Hobby plan, so DoorFee is strictly cheaper at the entry level. Pro tiers widen the gap further: DoorFee's $28 a month drops to 2.5 percent, while Skool's $99 a month only reaches 2.9 percent. What Skool sells for that price is a forum, course player and calendar in one deliberately plain space; DoorFee only ever gates and sells access to a Discord server you already run.
Paid Discord memberships with a sales funnel
Community, courses and a calendar in one paid space
DoorFee | Skool | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $28 | From $9 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Paid Discord memberships with a sales funnel
DoorFee sells access to a Discord server and gives you the pages and email that sell it, which is the half most access tools leave to you. Payments run through Stripe and roles are granted and revoked automatically. The page builder, affiliate program and coupon codes are what separate it from a bare paywall bot.
Only on this side
Community, courses and a calendar in one paid space
Skool puts a forum, a course player and events behind one membership. The interface is deliberately plain, which keeps people posting, and there is very little customization by design. Both plans take a percentage of what members pay, which is the part of the pricing that has changed most since Skool launched.
Our note
Skool was worth recommending when it was one flat fee, and the two-tier pricing has made it a calculation instead. Run the $1,300 sum against your own numbers before picking a plan, and look at Circle instead if the community needs to look like yours.
Pick DoorFee if the community already lives on Discord and the job is selling into it: a sales page, email marketing, an affiliate program and abandoned-checkout recovery come built in. Free costs nothing at 10 percent, matching Skool's paid Hobby tier for less, and Pro's $28 a month for 2.5 percent beats Skool's $99 a month for 2.9 percent on both counts.
Pick Skool if the community needs a course player and calendar alongside the forum, not just a paid gate, and a deliberately plain design that keeps people posting is a feature rather than a limitation. Hobby is $9 a month at 10 percent, and Pro at $99 a month drops to 2.9 percent, worth it by Skool's own math above roughly $1,300 a month in member payments.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 2.5% of what you earn | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Community Platforms, Memberships & Subscriptions, Monetization & Payments | Community Platforms, Courses & Coaching, Memberships & Subscriptions |
|---|
| Works with | Discord | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Only on this side