Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Donorbox's free plan charges 2.95 to 3.95 percent, already below Kindest's ongoing 5 percent. Kindest's one edge is a full waiver on the first $50,000 a brand-new United States nonprofit raises in its first year, a window Donorbox does not match. Past that waiver, even Donorbox's $150 a month Pro plan, list-priced the same $1,800 a year as Kindest's paid tier, charges a lower 1.75 to 2 percent against Kindest's 3.75 percent.
Donation pages and recurring giving
Donation pages that start without a subscription
Donorbox | Kindest | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $150 | Not listed |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | None | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Donation pages and recurring giving
Donorbox is built for nonprofits and reads that way, which is exactly right for a creator running a fundraiser or a cause and wrong for one collecting tips. Recurring donations, an embeddable form and donor records are the substance. Its free plan charges a higher percentage on each gift than the paid one.
Our note
Pro costs $150 a month and saves roughly 1.5 percent per donation, so it pays for itself somewhere around $10,000 a month in giving. Below that the free plan is the cheaper one, whatever the fee percentage looks like.
Only on this side
Donation pages that start without a subscription
Kindest gives a nonprofit donation forms, recurring giving and donor records on a free plan that takes a percentage instead of a monthly fee, and waives even that on the first fifty thousand dollars of a first year. The paid tier lowers the percentage and adds text campaigns and scheduled time with a person. Forms default to asking the donor to cover fees. Everything here assumes a registered charity rather than an individual.
Pick Donorbox once a nonprofit is past its first raise or is not exclusively a registered charity, since its free plan's 2.95 to 3.95 percent already undercuts Kindest's ongoing 5 percent. Pro, at $150 a month, lists at the same $1,800 a year as Kindest's own paid plan but charges 1.75 to 2 percent instead of 3.75 percent, plus the API, crypto and stock donations that come with it.
Pick Kindest for a brand-new United States charity that has not raised its first $50,000, since that window costs nothing at all, beating any Donorbox tier. Once the waiver is spent, Kindest's own numbers show its $1,800 a year plan only pays for itself around $144,000 raised annually, and Donorbox is cheaper than Kindest at every stage after the waiver regardless.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Work out where 1.25 percentage points saves more than $1,800 a year, which is around $144,000 of annual donations, and pick the plan on that rather than on the feature list. Below that number the free plan is the right answer even once the waiver runs out.