Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Donately puts a donation form on a site you already run and takes 2 percent flat on the free plan, or a lower unstated rate for $99 a month. Kindest works only for a registered nonprofit: free at 5 percent, waived completely on the first $50,000 raised in a first year, or $1,800 a year for 3.75 percent. Once that opening waiver is spent, Donately's flat 2 percent undercuts every Kindest tier. The waiver itself is the reason to start with Kindest instead.
Donation forms with the fee written down
Donation pages that start without a subscription
Donately | Kindest | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $99 | Not listed |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Not stated |
Donation forms with the fee written down
Donately puts donation forms and recurring giving on a site you already have, and states its own cut on the pricing page rather than after signup. Every plan carries every feature, so what the money buys is a lower fee rather than more product. It argues openly against the platforms that call themselves free and then take a fifth through donor-paid fees.
Our note
The arithmetic is straightforward: below about $60,000 raised a year the free plan is cheaper, and above it the monthly plan starts winning. Ask what the $99 plan's fee actually is before you sign, because the page never says.
Only on this side
Donation pages that start without a subscription
Kindest gives a nonprofit donation forms, recurring giving and donor records on a free plan that takes a percentage instead of a monthly fee, and waives even that on the first fifty thousand dollars of a first year. The paid tier lowers the percentage and adds text campaigns and scheduled time with a person. Forms default to asking the donor to cover fees. Everything here assumes a registered charity rather than an individual.
Pick Donately once a nonprofit is past its first raise, or is not a registered charity at all, since Donately never checks for that status. Its flat 2 percent fee is lower than Kindest's ongoing 5 percent and even beats Kindest's discounted 3.75 percent paid tier. Prepaying $5,000 also removes the fee entirely for up to $1 million raised, a cap Kindest does not offer.
Pick Kindest for a brand-new United States charity that has not raised its first $50,000 yet, because that window is fee-free while Donately always keeps its 2 percent. Kindest's own $1,800 a year plan only pays for itself once giving passes roughly $144,000 a year, so most small organisations should stay on its free tier until the waiver runs out and then compare rates again.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Work out where 1.25 percentage points saves more than $1,800 a year, which is around $144,000 of annual donations, and pick the plan on that rather than on the feature list. Below that number the free plan is the right answer even once the waiver runs out.