Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
DaVinci Resolve and Final Cut Pro both offer a one-time purchase near $300: DaVinci Studio is $295, Final Cut Pro is $299.99, almost the same number for a very different deal. DaVinci Resolve also gives away a full, unwatermarked free version with no Mac requirement described. Final Cut Pro has no free tier at all and runs only on Mac and iPad, with no project opening anywhere else.
Edit, colour and audio post in one app
Apple's editor, bought once or monthly
DaVinci Resolve | Final Cut Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $295 | From $12.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | One-time purchase | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 30 days |
Edit, colour and audio post in one app
DaVinci Resolve is the free version of the software a great many films are finished on, carrying editing, colour correction, visual effects and audio post in one application. The free build is not a trial and does not watermark what it exports. Studio costs $295 once and adds the neural engine features, better noise reduction and higher frame rates. The learning curve is the real price of admission.
Our note
The free version is more capable than most paid editors, and the only real cost is the time it takes to learn. Buy Studio when a specific feature blocks you rather than up front.
Only on this side
Apple's editor, bought once or monthly
Final Cut Pro cuts video on Mac and iPad with the magnetic timeline that people either move to it for or bounce off, and it is tuned hard for Apple silicon, which is why it renders quickly on machines that struggle elsewhere. Apple now sells it two ways: inside a subscription bundle alongside Motion, Compressor and Logic Pro, or as the one-time purchase it has always been. The subscription is where new premium content lands. Nothing here runs on Windows, and no project opens anywhere else.
Pick Final Cut Pro if you are already on a Mac and want a timeline tuned hard for Apple silicon, rendering quickly on hardware that struggles elsewhere. Buy it outright at $299.99 if you only want the editor, since that pays for itself against the $129-a-year Creator Studio subscription within three years. Take the subscription instead if Motion and Logic Pro are things you would otherwise buy separately.
Pick DaVinci Resolve if you are not on a Mac, or you want to try the whole thing for nothing before deciding. The free build is not a trial, exports with no watermark, and already includes the colour, audio and effects tools the software is known for. Studio adds the neural engine features for $295 once, almost exactly what Final Cut Pro costs outright, with no Windows restriction standing in the way.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API |
|---|
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | macOS, iOS |
|---|
| Covers | Video Editing, Motion Graphics & Animation | Video Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Buy it outright if you only want the editor, because $299.99 pays for itself against $129 a year inside three years and the app keeps updating. Take the subscription if Motion and Logic Pro are things you would otherwise buy separately, since that is where the bundle stops being a worse deal and starts being a better one.