Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
darktable develops raw files by hand, module by module, free and open source with no account, no upload and no per-photo charge ever. Imagen trains an AI profile on a few thousand of your own past edits and then applies your style automatically to new shoots, priced per photo: 1,000 free edits, then $0.05 a photo on a $7 monthly base, or $129 a month for continuous use. darktable asks for an evening learning a pipeline you control completely. Imagen asks for a few thousand training images and then edits without you.
darktable | Imagen | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $7 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
A raw developer that costs nothing
darktable manages a photo library in a database and develops raw files without ever altering the original, which is the same arrangement Lightroom sells a subscription for. Colour management runs the whole way to print and the processing uses the graphics card. It is open source and there is no paid tier, no account and no upload. The interface was built by photographers for photographers and it shows in both directions, so expect to read the manual.
Our note
Try this before paying for a raw developer, because the reason to buy one is workflow speed rather than image quality and you cannot tell which you care about until you have used a free one. If the module-based approach clicks within an evening it will keep clicking, and if it does not, no amount of practice changes that.
Your own editing style applied by the photo
Imagen trains a personal profile on a few thousand of a photographer's own edited images and then applies it to new shoots, priced per photo rather than per month. Culling, cropping and retouching are add-ons on the same meter. Paying by the photo suits an uneven year better than a subscription does, and the first thousand edits cost nothing.
Pick darktable if control over every edit matters more than speed, and the budget is zero regardless of volume. It never charges per photo, never uploads a file anywhere, and rewards the evening spent learning its module-based pipeline with a level of control few paid tools offer. Anybody who wants one button and a finished look should look at an automated tool like Imagen instead.
Pick Imagen if the year is uneven, a wedding season followed by a quiet winter, and paying per photo beats holding a subscription through the slow months. The first 1,000 edits are free with no card, then $0.05 a photo on a $7 base fee, with culling, cropping and retouching sold as separate add-ons on the same meter. Anybody editing continuously at high volume should compare that per-photo rate against the $129 monthly plan before assuming usage billing is cheaper.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | macOS, Windows, Linux | macOS, Windows |
|---|
| Covers | Photo Editing | Photo Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against Aftershoot the split is billing rather than quality: this charges per photo and that charges per year. Work out your annual volume and the answer falls out, and remember the beta-priced extras here are not permanent.