Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Dacast sells bandwidth and a paywall for a live broadcast: $39 a month billed annually for 2.4TB a year. Uscreen sells a video membership with its own branded phone and television apps, from $49 a month with no annual commitment required, capped at a hundred subscribers before a per-subscriber fee kicks in. One prices by how much data moves. The other prices by how many people pay you.
Dacast | Uscreen | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $39 | From $49 |
| Pricing model | Free trial, then paid | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 14 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Live streaming and hosting sold by the terabyte
Dacast is a broadcaster's video platform: live channels, a paywall, white-label playback and a bandwidth allowance measured in terabytes a year. Unused bandwidth rolls forward, which suits anybody whose schedule is a season rather than a week. It sells to events and businesses rather than to social creators, and the interface has never pretended otherwise.
Our note
The three-month minimum on monthly billing is the term to notice, because it makes a single event cost three payments. Buy this when you are selling access to the stream itself; for hosting recordings, SproutVideo or Vimeo is simpler and cheaper.
Only on this side
A video membership with its own apps
Uscreen is for creators who want subscribers paying for a library rather than viewers watching an ad, and it will ship that library as a phone and television app under your own name. The entry plan takes no cut of a subscription and caps you at a hundred subscribers, so the pricing pushes growth toward the tier with a per-subscriber fee. One-time sales are charged at ten percent on that first plan.
Pick Dacast if the product is a live event or a channel and bandwidth is the real cost driver: unused allowance rolls forward, which suits a season rather than a weekly release schedule. Starter is $39 a month billed annually, cheaper to start than Uscreen, but only if you are comfortable committing for the year and accepting the three-month minimum on monthly billing.
Pick Uscreen if the product is a subscription library people pay into every month, especially if you want it on their phone and their television under your own name. Growth is $49 a month with no subscriber fee up to a hundred people, and no annual lock-in required, but model the per-subscriber fee on Pro before you grow past that cap: at five hundred subscribers, the fee becomes most of the bill.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Video Hosting, Live Streaming | Video Hosting, Courses & Coaching, Memberships & Subscriptions |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Facebook, Twitch, Kick | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The pricing is designed to move you off the first plan, and it does that at exactly a hundred subscribers. Work out what Pro costs at your target audience size before starting, because at five hundred subscribers the fee is most of the bill.
Only on this side