Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Contra's fee protects the freelancer being paid: capped at $29 a payment free, $15 on the $29-a-month Pro plan, zero commission either way. Twine's stated fee sits on the other side of the deal, a 10 percent service fee the hirer pays on top of what they pay a freelancer, dropping to 5 percent after $10,000 paid to the same person. Posting a brief is free on both. One is where you get paid for the work. The other is where you go to hire somebody for it.
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Freelance creatives, free to post a brief
Contra | Twine | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $139.99 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Contra takes nothing out of what a client pays you, which is the whole pitch and a real difference from the marketplaces that take ten or twenty percent. What it charges instead is a flat platform fee per payment, capped, and a subscription that halves the cap. The work board is smaller than Upwork's, so most people arrive with a client already.
Our note
On a $5,000 project Contra's capped fee is a rounding error and Upwork's percentage is several hundred dollars. On a $200 one the maths reverses. Work out which side of that line your invoices sit on before picking.
Only on this side
Freelance creatives, free to post a brief
Twine is a marketplace of freelance video editors, animators, designers, illustrators, copywriters and music producers, and posting a job costs nothing. What you pay is a service fee on the hire, and it drops once you have paid a freelancer enough. The published project ranges give you a straight answer about what work costs before you write the brief.
Pick Contra if you are the freelancer and want to know exactly what you keep. The fee never passes $29 on the free plan or $15 on Pro, whatever the invoice, and there is no commission taken from the payment itself.
Pick Twine if you are hiring a video editor, illustrator or designer and want published price ranges before writing the listing, from $150 for a graphic designer to $1,000 for a videographer. The 10 percent service fee on the hire falls to 5 percent once you have paid that person $10,000, which rewards sticking with someone once you like them.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export |
|---|
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance | Hiring & Freelancers |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The falling fee is the reason to keep hiring the same editor here rather than moving off-platform once you like them. Upwork has far more people; Twine has fewer and they are all creative, which is worth something when you are the one reading the applications.