Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Circle and Slack organize a community very differently at the billing level. Circle charges a flat subscription, from $89 a month, plus a small percentage of what members actually pay; a free community of any size does not move that number. Slack charges per seat, so a hundred-member community on its $8.75-a-month Pro plan costs around $875 a month, whether or not any of those members are paying you anything. Slack's own listing says it wins where members are few and paying, and loses badly where they are many and free.
Community software that looks like yours, not ours
Channels for a community that outgrew a group chat
Circle | Slack | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $89 | From $8.75 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Paid subscription | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 14 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Community software that looks like yours, not ours
Circle gives you spaces, events, courses and live streams under your own branding and domain. It is the more configurable answer to Skool, and the price reflects that. Worth it once a community is paying for itself.
Our note
The right answer when the community has to look like it belongs to you, and an expensive one before that is true. Against Skool it is more money and more control, which is the entire difference between them.
Only on this side
Channels for a community that outgrew a group chat
Slack organises a community into channels, threads and searchable history, which is what a paid membership community usually needs once a Discord server stops being enough. The free plan keeps ninety days of messages and ten app connections, and that history limit is what pushes most groups onto a paid plan rather than any feature. Guests from outside the workspace can be given a single channel. Paying by seat means a large free community costs more here than on software priced per workspace.
Choose Circle for a community that is free to join or growing past a hundred people, since the bill does not move with headcount. It starts at $89 a month with a 2 percent transaction fee on what members pay, falling to 0.5 percent on the custom tier, and includes courses and live streams Slack does not have.
Choose Slack for a small, paying group that already lives there and needs searchable threads rather than a branded space. Free keeps 90 days of history and 10 app connections, which is the real limit that pushes an upgrade. Pro is $8.75 a person a month, and that per-seat math is exactly what makes a large free community the wrong fit.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Some of it | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 2% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Linux |
|---|
| Covers | Community Platforms, Courses & Coaching | Community Platforms, Project Management |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Count the seats before comparing this to community software priced per workspace, because a hundred-member community is around $875 a month here and a flat fee elsewhere. Slack wins where the members are few, paying and already living in it, and loses badly where they are many and free.
Only on this side