Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Canva's free plan covers most templates and the editor itself with no stated download cap, and Pro is $14.99 a month for the brand kit and background remover. Snappa's free plan is capped hard at three downloads a month, and Pro removes that limit entirely for $10 a month billed yearly, cheaper than Canva's price either way it is billed. Both open templates at the exact size a thumbnail, story or header needs. Snappa's whole library is royalty-free with no attribution required, which is worth checking against whatever stock Canva's free plan actually includes.
Canva | Snappa | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $14.99 | From $10 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Thumbnails, covers and posts without a designer
Canva covers thumbnails, channel art, carousels and short video with templates that look fine and are quick to change. Brand kits keep a team consistent. Anyone with real design skill will outgrow it, and that is fine.
Our note
Nearly everyone should be on the free plan until a brand kit is the thing they keep wanting. Pro earns its money for teams and for anybody publishing daily; for one person making a thumbnail a week it does not.
Only on this side
Graphics sized right for each platform
Snappa opens at the dimensions a thumbnail, a story or a header actually needs, which removes the step where somebody guesses and then crops. The stock photos and graphics inside it are royalty-free for commercial work. Three downloads a month on the free plan is the limit, and it is a hard one rather than a watermark.
Take Canva for the wider template range and the tools Snappa's listing does not mention: brand kits, short video and animation, and a much larger asset library on Pro. The free plan is not described as having a hard download cap the way Snappa's is, and Pro at $14.99 a month adds the background remover and brand kit. It is the broader tool of the two.
Take Snappa if speed and a hard three-downloads-a-month free cap are an acceptable trade for royalty-free stock with no attribution required. Pro removes that cap entirely for $10 a month billed yearly, cheaper than Canva Pro's $14.99. It opens straight at the dimensions a thumbnail, story or header needs, so nothing gets cropped after the fact.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Design & Graphics, Short-Form & Clipping | Thumbnails & Cover Art, Design & Graphics |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Pinterest | YouTube, Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Only on this side