Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Canva's free plan covers most templates and the editor itself, with Pro at $14.99 a month adding the brand kit and background remover for general design. Kittl is built for merch and book covers specifically: display type, textures and badge layouts that would take an hour in Illustrator, but its free plan carries no commercial rights and no high-resolution export, so it is for trying rather than for selling. Kittl Pro is $14 an editor a month billed annually, or $19 monthly, close to Canva's price either way. The real difference is not the price; it is that Kittl's free output cannot legally be sold at all.
Canva | Kittl | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $14.99 | From $14 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Thumbnails, covers and posts without a designer
Canva covers thumbnails, channel art, carousels and short video with templates that look fine and are quick to change. Brand kits keep a team consistent. Anyone with real design skill will outgrow it, and that is fine.
Our note
Nearly everyone should be on the free plan until a brand kit is the thing they keep wanting. Pro earns its money for teams and for anybody publishing daily; for one person making a thumbnail a week it does not.
Only on this side
Design templates for merch and covers
Kittl is built for the kind of design that ends up on a t-shirt or a book cover: display type, textures, badge layouts and vector effects that would take an hour in Illustrator. The template library does most of the work and the editor stays out of the way. The free plan carries no commercial rights, which matters if the design is going on something you sell.
Take Canva for general design: thumbnails, covers, carousels and posts across a wider range of everyday graphics than Kittl covers. The free plan is usable for real output without a commercial-rights restriction attached, and Pro at $14.99 a month adds the brand kit and background remover once a team needs consistency. It is the broader tool, not the specialist one.
Take Kittl specifically for merch, book covers or poster-style graphics, where its display type effects and badge layouts do in minutes what would take an hour in Illustrator. Free is for trying only: no commercial rights and no high-resolution export, so anything meant for a storefront needs Pro at $14 an editor a month billed annually, or $19 monthly. That licensing line is the one to check before shipping a design Canva's free plan would have let you sell.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Design & Graphics, Short-Form & Clipping | Thumbnails & Cover Art, Design & Graphics, Merch & Print on Demand |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Pinterest | YouTube, Instagram, Twitch, LinkedIn |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The free plan carries no commercial rights, which matters more here than usual because the output is merch and book covers meant to be sold. Anything headed for a storefront starts at $14 a month rather than at nothing.
Only on this side