Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Calendly is a booking page first, free for one event type and $10 a seat a month billed yearly once a second kind of call is needed, with payment collection available as a feature from Standard up. Square Appointments ties booking to Square's own payment processing: free for one location with no monthly fee, charging 2.6 percent plus 15 cents in person or 3.3 percent plus 30 cents online, dropping to 2.5 and 2.9 percent on the $49 a month Plus plan. Calendly is priced for the calendar. Square is priced for the money that moves through it.
A booking page that reads your own calendar
Booking and payments in one account
Calendly | Square Appointments | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $10 | From $49 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | 30 days |
A booking page that reads your own calendar
Calendly publishes the times you are genuinely free and lets somebody claim one, which settles in a click what usually takes three emails. Buffers, round robin and paid bookings are there when the calls start earning. The free plan allows one event type, so anybody running a coaching call and a sponsor call from the same calendar pays.
Our note
The one to buy when a bad calendar is costing you calls. Start on Standard rather than free: the second event type is what everybody needs by the second week.
Only on this side
Booking and payments in one account
Square Appointments runs a booking site, staff calendars and reminders, and takes the payment through Square rather than through a separate processor. The free plan covers one location with no monthly fee at all, and the processing rate is where Square earns instead. Paying lowers that rate and adds the scheduling controls a team needs. Anybody who only wants a calendar link and never takes a payment is paying attention to the wrong half of this product.
Pick Calendly if the booking page itself, not the payment processing behind it, is the whole job: buffers, round robin, an API and integrations across whatever calendars are connected. The free plan allows one event type, and Standard at $10 a seat a month billed yearly is the realistic starting price for a second kind of call. Anybody taking payment at booking still needs to weigh what processor sits behind that feature.
Pick Square Appointments if booking and getting paid should be one account with one reconciliation. The free tier runs a real one-location business with unlimited staff calendars and no monthly fee, and Plus at $49 a month lowers the card rate rather than just adding features, paying for itself only once online bookings pass roughly $12,000 a month. Below that volume it is a straight loss, and anybody who never takes payment is carrying a payments platform for no reason.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API |
|---|
| Yes |
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Scheduling & Booking, Courses & Coaching | Scheduling & Booking, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | 1 |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Do the arithmetic on the processing gap rather than on the features, because the $49 plan pays for itself somewhere around $12,000 a month in online bookings and is a straight loss below that. The free tier is not a stripped one: it is the same booking product at a higher card rate.
Only on this side