Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Bookafy and Koalendar both put a booking page in front of a calendar for one person at no cost, and both price their first paid tier almost the same: $7 a user a month billed yearly for Bookafy, $6.99 for Koalendar. The free plans differ more than the paid ones. Koalendar states unlimited bookings and two calendar syncs on its free plan, while Bookafy's free plan is described only as basic scheduling for an individual. Bookafy answers back with HIPAA compliance on its top tier, which Koalendar never raises.
Bookafy | Koalendar | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $7 | From $6.99 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | 7 days | 7 days |
| API |
Booking pages with a real free tier
Bookafy does the ordinary booking job well: a page people pick a slot on, calendar sync both ways, reminders, and a video call created for the appointment. The free plan is not a trial and covers a single person taking meetings. Paid tiers add routing across a team, custom fields and the compliance options a health or legal practice needs. Nothing here will surprise anybody who has used Calendly, which is rather the point.
Our note
Start on the free plan and only move when a specific feature blocks you, since for a single person taking calls it does the whole job. Check the monthly-billed rate before committing, because the published figures are annual and the difference is not stated anywhere on the page.
Unlimited bookings on the free plan
Koalendar gives away the thing most booking tools meter, which is the number of appointments, and puts its paid features around payments, reminders and team routing instead. Two calendar syncs and an embeddable booking page come at no cost with no time limit. Paying adds Stripe checkout at the point of booking, custom reminders and the removal of Koalendar's branding. It is a booking link rather than a practice management system, and anybody wanting intake forms and client records will outgrow it.
Choose Bookafy if a health or legal practice needs HIPAA compliance eventually: that sits on the Pro+ tier at $11 a user a month, and Koalendar's listing does not mention healthcare compliance at all. Otherwise the two entry paid tiers cost almost the same, seven dollars either way.
Choose Koalendar if you want the free plan to hold more before asking for a card: unlimited bookings, two calendar syncs and embedding on your own site, all free with no time limit. Upgrading to Pro at $6.99 a user a month billed annually is mostly about payments, since Stripe and Apple Pay only arrive there, plus round robin scheduling for a small team.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Scheduling & Booking | Scheduling & Booking |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | 1 |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Upgrade for the payments rather than for the branding, because collecting at the moment of booking is what stops no-shows and the logo bothers you more than it bothers your clients. Two calendar syncs is enough for one person and immediately not enough for anybody juggling a work and a personal calendar plus a shared one.