Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
BigCommerce is a hosted storefront billed monthly against how much a shop sells, starting at $29 a month for up to $30,000 a year with no extra cut taken by the platform itself. Gumroad charges nothing monthly and instead takes a flat 10 percent of every sale. A product page goes live as soon as a file is uploaded. The choice comes down to volume and commitment: a shop selling steadily is cheaper on a subscription, and an occasional or first release is cheaper paying only when it sells.
A hosted store priced against how much you sell
Sell digital products with almost no setup
BigCommerce | Gumroad | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $29 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
A hosted store priced against how much you sell
BigCommerce is a hosted storefront whose tiers are drawn around sales volume rather than around features, so the question at signup is what a shop turns over rather than which capabilities it needs. Crossing a tier's ceiling moves the account up on its own, which is worth knowing before the first busy quarter. The platform adds no transaction fee of its own on top of the payment provider's. Anybody below the first threshold is paying for headroom they will not use for a while.
Our note
The automatic upgrade is the thing to plan for, because a good quarter moves you a tier without anybody approving it and the jump from $29 to $79 arrives at $30,000 of sales. Compare with Shopify on the card rate rather than the subscription, since that is where the two platforms actually differ.
Sell digital products with almost no setup
Gumroad is the fastest way to put a file behind a payment link. No store to build, no plan to choose, and a flat 10 percent on every sale. That rate is high once you are doing real volume, which is when people usually leave.
Choose BigCommerce once a shop sells enough that a percentage would cost more than a subscription. Core is $29 a month for up to $30,000 in yearly sales, with no BigCommerce fee stacked on top of whatever the payment provider charges. It is wrong for a first product or an occasional release, since the fee is due whether or not anything sells that month.
Choose Gumroad for a first digital product or a release with no fixed schedule. There is no monthly fee, only a flat 10 percent taken from each sale, so a quiet month costs nothing at all. That rate never falls with volume. It is wrong at real scale, because at some point 10 percent costs more than BigCommerce's flat $29 a month plus an ordinary card rate.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Start here, and do the arithmetic every quarter. The moment 10 percent is more than a competitor's monthly fee plus a lower rate, move. Until then nothing is simpler.