Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Basecamp organises work as projects, with message boards, to-do lists and files, and prices it flatly: $15 a user a month up to a point, then $299 a month total no matter how many employees are on it, and clients are never billed at all. ClickUp packs in more: docs, whiteboards, goals and dashboards that all cross-reference, starting free for unlimited members and rising to $7 a user a month, though automations are metered and AI costs another $9 on top. Basecamp is simple by design. ClickUp is powerful by design, and the settings screen shows it.
Flat pricing that stops caring how big you get
Docs, tasks and dashboards in one place
Basecamp | ClickUp | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $15 | From $7 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Flat pricing that stops caring how big you get
Basecamp organises work as projects containing message boards, to-do lists, files and a chat room, and it has stayed close to that shape for twenty years. The reason to choose it is the pricing rather than the features: above a certain team size it is one flat monthly fee for everybody, and clients and guests are never billed at all. That makes it unusually easy to reason about for a studio that grows and shrinks. The free package runs a single project, which is a real way to test it rather than a demo.
Only on this side
Docs, tasks and dashboards in one place
ClickUp tries to be the only work tool a team opens, and mostly manages it: tasks, documents, whiteboards, goals and dashboards all live together and cross-reference. The cost of that reach is a settings screen that takes a weekend to understand. Automations are metered per plan, which is what pushes a growing team off the free tier.
Our note
AI is a separate $9 per user a month, sitting on top of a $7 seat. That more than doubles the bill, and it is easy to miss when the comparison with Notion gets settled on the headline price.
Pick Basecamp if the team works with clients constantly and wants a bill that does not move with headcount. Pro Unlimited is $299 a month flat for unlimited users and projects, and clients and guests are never billed on any plan, which is where a studio saves the most. The free plan runs one real project with 1 GB of storage and up to 20 users, a genuine way to test it rather than a demo.
Pick ClickUp when the team wants tasks, docs and dashboards in one place and does not mind a weekend spent configuring it. The Free Forever plan does not cap seats, only storage and advanced features, and paid plans start at $7 a user a month billed yearly. Add AI and the bill jumps by $9 a user a month on top of the seat price, more than doubling the cost of the entry plan, which is worth checking before assuming the headline rate is the real one.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Linux |
|---|
| Covers | Project Management, Hiring & Freelancers | Project Management |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.