Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Appointlet is a booking page in front of your calendar: the free plan books unlimited meetings forever, and Premium at $9 a member a month layers on reminders and branding. Square Appointments is a booking site with payment processing built in, free for one location but taking 2.6 percent to 3.3 percent of every transaction, with Plus at $49 a month lowering that rate. The choice is not about price. It is about whether the booking also takes the payment. Appointlet never touches money. Square is built around it.
Booking pages with no cap on the free plan
Booking and payments in one account
Appointlet | Square Appointments | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $9 | From $49 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | None | 30 days |
Booking pages with no cap on the free plan
Appointlet puts a booking page in front of your calendar and gets out of the way. The free plan books unlimited meetings, which is rarer than it sounds among scheduling tools that count them. Paying buys reminders, custom branding and the integrations, and it is charged per member rather than per booking.
Our note
Appointlet is the answer when the only thing you need is a link that books a meeting. It has been quietly doing that for years and costs nothing, which is worth more than the features it lacks.
Booking and payments in one account
Square Appointments runs a booking site, staff calendars and reminders, and takes the payment through Square rather than through a separate processor. The free plan covers one location with no monthly fee at all, and the processing rate is where Square earns instead. Paying lowers that rate and adds the scheduling controls a team needs. Anybody who only wants a calendar link and never takes a payment is paying attention to the wrong half of this product.
Pick Appointlet if you just need a link that books a meeting and never touches money. The free plan has no cap on meetings and does not expire, so there is no trial to run out on. Paying only buys reminders, branding and integrations at $9 per member a month, and annual billing cuts that by 25 percent.
Pick Square Appointments if the booking is the payment. The free tier runs a genuine one-location business with unlimited staff calendars, but every card charges 2.6 percent plus 15 cents in person or 3.3 percent plus 30 cents online. Plus at $49 a month drops those rates and adds scheduling controls, and it pays for itself only once online bookings pass roughly $12,000 a month. Below that it is a straight loss.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API |
|---|
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Scheduling & Booking | Scheduling & Booking, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | 1 |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Do the arithmetic on the processing gap rather than on the features, because the $49 plan pays for itself somewhere around $12,000 a month in online bookings and is a straight loss below that. The free tier is not a stripped one: it is the same booking product at a higher card rate.
Only on this side