Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Amazon KDP lists a book inside the Kindle store, where the readers are already searching, for free and up to 70 percent royalty between $2.99 and $12.99. Gumroad is not a bookstore. It turns any file into a payment link with no store to build and a flat 10 percent fee on every sale, whatever the price. The choice is between Amazon's ready-made audience with a price band attached, and a plain page you have to bring your own readers to.
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Sell digital products with almost no setup
Amazon KDP | Gumroad | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Pricing model | Free | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Usage-based | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Kindle Direct Publishing is the shortest route from a finished manuscript to a book somebody can buy, and the audience on the other side of it is the reason most self-published authors start here. Publishing costs nothing. The royalty band is the thing to read before setting a price, because it changes what you earn by half.
Our note
The price band is the decision, not the cover. Pricing at $14.99 instead of $12.99 cuts the royalty rate in half, and a lot of first books are priced into the wrong side of it by accident.
Only on this side
Sell digital products with almost no setup
Gumroad is the fastest way to put a file behind a payment link. No store to build, no plan to choose, and a flat 10 percent on every sale. That rate is high once you are doing real volume, which is when people usually leave.
Pick Amazon KDP for a book, full stop. Nobody searches Gumroad for something to read, and the Kindle store's readers are the reason self-published books sell at all. Stay inside the $2.99 to $12.99 band or the royalty halves to 35 percent.
Pick Gumroad for anything that is not a book: a PDF, a template, a software licence sold direct from your own site without Amazon's rules on price or format. The fee is a flat 10 percent with no monthly cost. Pay-what-you-want pricing and licence keys are both built in, suited to products a bookstore was never built to sell.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Their cut (they differ) | 30% of what you earn | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Start here, and do the arithmetic every quarter. The moment 10 percent is more than a competitor's monthly fee plus a lower rate, move. Until then nothing is simpler.
Only on this side