Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Amazon KDP publishes a manuscript straight to the Kindle store for free, with a 70 percent royalty between $2.99 and $12.99 and 35 percent outside that band. Draft2Digital sends the same file to Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and a stack of libraries from one upload, for a $20 one-time fee plus about 10 percent of each sale on top of what the store keeps. The real choice is not which store pays more. It is whether KDP Select's exclusivity and its Kindle Unlimited page-read money are worth more than a wider shelf, because wide distribution and Select cannot both run at once.
Amazon KDP | Draft2Digital | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $20 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | One-time purchase |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | One-time purchase |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Kindle Direct Publishing is the shortest route from a finished manuscript to a book somebody can buy, and the audience on the other side of it is the reason most self-published authors start here. Publishing costs nothing. The royalty band is the thing to read before setting a price, because it changes what you earn by half.
Our note
The price band is the decision, not the cover. Pricing at $14.99 instead of $12.99 cuts the royalty rate in half, and a lot of first books are priced into the wrong side of it by accident.
One upload, every ebook store
Draft2Digital takes one manuscript and lists it at Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon and a long tail of libraries, which is the alternative to keeping an account at each. Its formatting and print-on-demand are included rather than sold. The commission is on top of whatever the store already takes.
Our note
Going wide through Draft2Digital and staying in KDP Select are mutually exclusive, and that is the actual decision. Select pays page reads from Kindle Unlimited; wide distribution pays from stores Amazon does not own. Do not start both.
Choose Amazon KDP, and enroll in KDP Select, if Kindle is where the readers already are. The help centre reports Select paid out $67 million in June 2026 alone, and that money is only available to titles that stay exclusive.
Choose Draft2Digital instead to be in every store and every library. No exclusivity required. Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes and Noble and libraries, all from one file, for a $20 one-time fee and about 10 percent a sale. Co-authors get their split paid automatically, which matters the moment a book has more than one name on the cover.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 30% of what you earn | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.