Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
ActiveCampaign builds branching automation deep enough to run a whole sales sequence, with a CRM attached, from $15 a month billed annually at 1,000 contacts, though the cheapest tier caps automations at five actions and Plus at $49 is the real starting point. Omnisend is built around a shop rather than a sequence: cart recovery, product blocks in the email and SMS on the same flow, free for 500 emails a month and $11.20 after that. The decision is whether the automation needs to branch on behavior and deals, or needs to know what is sitting in a cart.
Email automation with a CRM underneath it
Email and SMS for people selling products
ActiveCampaign | Omnisend | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $15 | From $11.20 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Paid subscription | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Annual only | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API |
Email automation with a CRM underneath it
ActiveCampaign is what people move to when the sequences outgrow a newsletter tool, and its conditional logic goes deeper than anything at this price. The CRM underneath means a sponsor conversation and a subscriber record are the same object. It takes a weekend to learn, and the cheapest plan caps automations at five actions, which is not enough to try the thing it is good at.
Our note
Budget for Plus rather than Starter. The five-action cap on the cheapest plan blocks exactly the branching logic that justifies choosing ActiveCampaign over a newsletter tool, and discovering that after migrating a list is a bad afternoon.
Email and SMS for people selling products
Omnisend is built around a shop rather than a newsletter: abandoned-cart flows, product recommendations in the email, and SMS on the same automation. For a creator selling merch or digital products through Shopify it does the job that a general email tool leaves to plugins. The free plan is 500 emails a month, which is a test rather than a starting point.
Pick ActiveCampaign if a sequence has to branch on tags, behavior or a deal stage, and having a subscriber record double as a CRM entry is useful to you. Budget for Plus at $49 a month rather than the $15 Starter tier: five actions per automation is not enough to use the branching logic that is the reason to choose this over a newsletter tool.
Pick Omnisend if what you are automating is a store: abandoned carts, product recommendations and SMS on one flow. The free plan covers 500 emails and 250 contacts at no cost, and paid plans start at $11.20 a month, a fraction of what ActiveCampaign's usable tier costs. None of that fires without a connected store, so a newsletter with nothing to sell gets little from it.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Email Marketing & Automation | Email Marketing & Automation, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The comparison the page invites is Klaviyo, and on price it wins that argument at small list sizes. The real question is whether your store is on a platform it integrates with, which decides how much of the automation actually fires.
Only on this side