Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Tapfiliate charges a flat fee with no percentage of affiliate sales, integrating with about thirty checkouts including Shopify and Stripe, from $89 a month for Launch. UpPromote installs directly into a Shopify store only, free for a program doing up to $3,000 of referral sales a month, then $29.99 a month plus 2 percent of what affiliates sell. UpPromote's own guidance sends anybody not on Shopify to Tapfiliate instead, so platform decides this before the pricing model does.
Affiliate tracking you run yourself
Affiliate marketing built for Shopify stores
Tapfiliate | UpPromote | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $89 | From $29.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 7 days | 14 days |
Affiliate tracking you run yourself
Tapfiliate is the affiliate layer for a business that already has checkout somewhere else, with integrations for Shopify, Stripe and about thirty other places a sale can happen. Recurring commissions and coupon tracking are on the entry plan, which is where most creator programs live. Multi-level structures and automated payouts sit a tier up.
Only on this side
Affiliate marketing built for Shopify stores
UpPromote installs into a Shopify store and turns customers into affiliates without anybody writing tracking code. Recruitment forms, coupon-based attribution and automated payouts all sit inside the admin a merchant already uses. The performance fee on top of the monthly price means a program that works costs more, which is either fair or annoying depending on the month.
Only on this side
Pick Tapfiliate if you are not on Shopify, or if the program does real volume: the flat $89 a month for Launch does not grow as sales do, which is what UpPromote's percentage fee does instead. A program with only a few affiliates and occasional sales is paying a lot for very little here, by its own account.
Pick UpPromote if you sell on Shopify and want to start free: the free plan covers real volume, up to $3,000 of referral sales a month, before Growth at $29.99 a month plus 2 percent kicks in. That percentage fee only applies to sales from approved referrals, so it scales down naturally for a small or occasional program.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Not stated |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 2% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Affiliate & Referral, Monetization & Payments | Affiliate & Referral, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.