Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Scribe watches a process once and writes it up as a numbered guide with screenshots automatically, free for the last 25 guides, then $25 a month for one seat. Zight captures a screenshot or short recording and hands back a link before the upload finishes, with annotation and a searchable library, free to start and $9.95 a month for Pro. Scribe builds the finished document for you; Zight is faster for the one-off capture that just needs a link.
Scribe | Zight | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $25 | From $9.95 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Step-by-step guides captured as you click
Scribe records a process while somebody does it once and turns it into a written guide with screenshots, numbered and ready to hand over. That is the documentation nobody writes, produced as a side effect of the work. Redaction and branding are paid features, and the free plan is capped at the last 25 guides you edited.
Our note
The five-seat minimum on the cheaper per-seat plan is the thing to notice. One person pays $25, a team of five pays $65, and a team of two pays $50 for the personal plan twice.
Only on this side
Screenshots and screen recordings with links
Zight, which spent years as CloudApp, captures a screenshot or a short recording and hands back a link before the file has finished uploading. Annotation, GIF capture and a searchable library are the reasons people keep it in the menu bar. The free plan caps recording length and storage, and the cap arrives sooner than expected.
Pick Scribe for repeatable process documentation that has to read like a guide: numbered, with screenshots, ready to hand to a contractor or a new hire. That automation costs $25 a month for one seat once the free 25-guide allowance runs out.
Pick Zight for the fast, ad hoc capture: a bug report, client feedback, a quick GIF. Pro is $9.95 a month, under half of Scribe's single-seat price, and its searchable library keeps months of small captures easy to find again.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Everything, in an open format |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, macOS, Windows | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS |
|---|
| Covers | Screen Recording, Project Management | Screen Recording, Media Storage & Review |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Only on this side