Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
PublishDrive charges a subscription and takes nothing from sales, free for one book and then $13.99 a month billed annually for three books and 50 channels. StreetLib charges less upfront but takes a cut: $99 a year, or $299 once for a lifetime option, and keeps 15 percent of net revenue on top, the rate stated plainly on its pricing page rather than buried in a contract. Below roughly a few hundred dollars a year in royalties, StreetLib's lower fee wins; above it, PublishDrive's zero percent share starts winning back the gap, similar to the crossover both tools separately describe against Draft2Digital's pure percentage model.
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
Ebook distribution that states its cut up front
PublishDrive | StreetLib | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $13.99 | From $99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Annual only | Annual only |
| Free trial | None | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
PublishDrive charges a subscription and then takes nothing from sales, which inverts the usual aggregator deal and pays off the moment a book sells steadily. One upload reaches over 50 retailers and a library network most authors never get near. Plans are capped by title count, so a back catalogue costs more than a single book does.
Our note
Draft2Digital takes 10 percent and costs nothing up front, so it wins on a book that barely sells and loses on one that does. Work out your annual royalties before choosing: the crossover for the Starter plan is somewhere around $1,700 a year in sales.
Ebook distribution that states its cut up front
StreetLib distributes ebooks and audiobooks to the stores an author cannot easily reach one by one, and is unusual in charging for the service rather than only taking a share. It publishes what it keeps, which is more than most aggregators do. For an author already selling through Amazon alone, the question is whether the other stores add up to more than the fee.
Pick PublishDrive if a few titles sell steadily enough that a subscription beats giving up a percentage forever. Starter is $13.99 a month billed annually for three books, and every tier states 0 percent revenue share, so royalties arrive intact once the subscription is covered.
Pick StreetLib if the backlist sells slowly or unpredictably and a lower fixed cost matters more than keeping every dollar of royalties. Pro is $99 a year, or $299 once for a lifetime option that suits a backlist selling slowly, and the stated 85 percent revenue share is printed on the page rather than left for you to calculate.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | None | 15% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against Draft2Digital, which charges nothing upfront and takes a larger share, this is the better arithmetic for anybody already selling. Work out your annual net revenue: below roughly a thousand dollars a year, paying nothing and giving up more is cheaper.