Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Paddle is a merchant of record: it sells your product, collects the money and handles sales tax registration and remittance for you, at a flat 5 percent plus 50 cents per checkout with no monthly fee. PayPal charges nothing monthly either, but the rate depends on how the money arrives, 3.49 percent plus a fixed fee through PayPal Checkout, down to 2.29 percent for a QR payment, and you handle your own tax. Paddle costs more per sale and takes tax off your desk. PayPal costs less on paper but leaves VAT and sales tax registration to you.
Paddle | PayPal | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Pricing model | Free | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Usage-based | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Yes |
Merchant of record for digital products
Paddle acts as the merchant of record, meaning it sells your product to the customer and then pays you, taking sales tax registration and remittance off your desk entirely. That is the whole difference between it and a plain card processor, and it is why software sellers outside the United States end up here. One rate covers payments, billing and tax. Products under ten dollars are quoted separately.
Our note
The extra two points over Stripe buys you out of tax registration, which is worth it the moment you sell across borders. Lemon Squeezy is the same company at the same headline rate with a lighter setup, so pick that one unless you need Paddle's billing depth.
Only on this side
Card and wallet payments with no monthly fee
PayPal charges nothing monthly for a business account and takes its money on each transaction, which is what makes it the default for anybody whose income arrives unevenly. Buyers can pay with a PayPal balance, a card, Venmo or a pay-later option without a merchant account of their own. The rate depends on how the money arrives rather than on a plan, and receiving from another country adds a percentage on top. Its dispute process is the part sellers complain about, and it is worth reading before it matters.
Choose Paddle if you sell software or a digital product to customers in many countries, especially the EU and UK, where VAT rules bite first. One rate, 5 percent plus 50 cents, covers payments, billing, sales tax compliance and fraud protection together, with no monthly fee and no separate accountant bill for registering in each country you sell into. Products under ten dollars are quoted separately, since a flat 50 cents is a heavy cut of a small sale.
Choose PayPal if your income arrives unevenly and you want buyers who trust the brand to check out with a balance, Venmo or a pay-later option rather than typing in a card. There is no monthly fee, and rates run from 2.29 percent for a QR payment up to 4.99 percent for pay-later, plus 1.50 percent on anything received from another country. It does not register or remit your sales tax anywhere, so a seller in many jurisdictions with no accountant is better served by Paddle's flat rate instead.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Monetization & Payments, Digital Products & Storefronts | Monetization & Payments, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Use this as the second payment option rather than the only one, because acceptance is its real advantage and the rate is not competitive against Stripe at volume. Read the dated fee schedule rather than an article about it, since the rates on this page carry a revision date and most summaries elsewhere do not.
Only on this side