Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
n8n is workflow automation you can self-host for free under its own licence, with cloud plans starting at $20 a month billed annually and billed by whole workflow executions rather than by step. Zapier connects one app's event to another app's action from a hosted dashboard, free for 100 tasks a month, then $19.99 a month billed annually for Professional, billed by each individual action. The two land at nearly the same annual price at the entry tier. What differs is the metering and whether you want the option to run it yourself.
n8n | Zapier | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $20 | From $29.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Automation you can host on your own server
n8n is a workflow automation tool whose source is public and which you may run on your own machine, which matters when the data passing through is a subscriber list or a client's files. Nodes cover the usual services and a code node covers everything else, so a workflow does not stop dead at the first thing nobody built an integration for. Cloud plans are billed by workflow executions rather than by task, so a long chain costs the same as a short one. Self-hosting is free under its own licence.
Wire the tools together without writing code
Zapier connects one app's event to another app's action, which is how most creator plumbing gets built: a new YouTube upload posts itself to Discord, a form submission opens a task, a purchase adds someone to a list. It matters most when the tools you already pay for do not talk to each other and the alternative is doing it by hand every week. Pricing counts tasks rather than seats, so cost follows how much actually runs.
Our note
Count the tasks a workflow will actually consume before picking a tier, because a busy trigger can burn a month's allowance in a week. Start on the free plan and let the first thing you hit tell you which limit matters.
Choose n8n if you want the option to self-host for free, or if your workflows are long: execution-based billing means a forty-step workflow costs the same as a four-step one, which Zapier's per-task pricing cannot say. Cloud Starter is $20 a month billed annually, almost identical to Zapier Professional's annualized rate, but there is no free cloud tier here, only a trial and the free self-hosted community edition for anybody comfortable running their own server.
Choose Zapier if you want a hosted tool running in minutes with no server to think about, and workflows short enough that per-task billing stays cheap. The free plan covers 100 tasks a month including tables and forms, enough to test whether a chore is worth automating before paying anything. Professional is $19.99 a month billed annually, matching n8n's price almost exactly, so the real decision is the metering model and whether self-hosting is worth the setup.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, macOS, Windows, Linux | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Project Management, DM & Comment Automation | Project Management, DM & Comment Automation |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.