Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Murf AI turns a script into a voiceover with per-word emphasis controls and a timeline that syncs audio to video, priced for course and explainer creators: Creator is $19 a month for 24 hours of generation a year. Speechify started as a reader that speaks PDFs, documents and web pages aloud, and grew a voice generator and cloning onto the same $29 a month Premium plan. Murf is for building a narrated video. Speechify is for getting through a stack of reading, with voiceover as a second job on top.
Text to speech voiceovers for video and courses
Reads anything aloud, and clones a voice
Murf AI | Speechify | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $19 | From $29 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | None | None |
| API |
Text to speech voiceovers for video and courses
Murf turns a script into a voiceover in a couple of hundred voices, with per-word emphasis and pacing controls that stop the read sounding flat. The editor syncs the audio against a video track, which is what makes it usable for course modules rather than just clips. Voice generation is metered in hours per year, so a weekly show eats a plan faster than the monthly price implies.
Only on this side
Reads anything aloud, and clones a voice
Speechify began as a reader for people who take text in better by ear, and grew into a voice generator with cloning, dubbing and an API. The reading half runs as a browser extension and a phone app across documents, PDFs and web pages. The generating half competes with the studio tools, and the two sit on one subscription.
Our note
Two products share one bill here, a reader and a voice generator, and most people want one of them. If it is the voiceover, ElevenLabs is the sharper tool; if it is getting through a stack of reading, nothing else in this catalog does that job.
Choose Murf AI if you are producing a course or an explainer channel and need a consistent narrator synced to picture, since the editor drops a voiceover onto a video timeline in one place. Creator is $19 a month for 24 hours of generation a year, cheaper than Speechify's $29 Premium plan, though that allowance is annual: a weekly show should divide it by 52 before committing. The free plan is 10 minutes with no downloads and no commercial rights, so it only proves the voices are good enough.
Choose Speechify if reading is the actual bottleneck: it reads PDFs, documents and web pages aloud through a phone app or browser extension, on every major platform, for $29 a month. Voice cloning and dubbing ride on the same subscription, a second product bundled onto the first rather than a dedicated voiceover tool. Anybody who only wants studio-grade voiceover is better off comparing Murf against a tool built for that alone.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | AI Video & Voice, Audio & Podcasting | AI Video & Voice |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.