Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Make wires apps together on a visual canvas with branches, loops and error handlers you can draw, free permanently at a metered operations allowance, then $12 a month billed annually. Zapier connects one app's event to another app's action in a simpler, more linear model, free at 100 tasks a month, then $19.99 a month billed annually on Professional. Make is cheaper at its paid entry tier and shows data moving through each node. Zapier has the larger app library and is the more familiar name for a first automation.
Make | Zapier | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $12 | From $29.99 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Automation you can see as a diagram
Make wires apps together on a canvas where each step is a node you can watch data move through, which is why people who bounced off text-based automation tools tend to stay. Branches, loops and error handlers are all drawable rather than configured in a form. For a creator it is the thing that files a new upload, posts the announcement and adds the sponsor to a tracker without anybody opening three tabs. Billing counts operations rather than seats, so cost follows how much actually runs.
Wire the tools together without writing code
Zapier connects one app's event to another app's action, which is how most creator plumbing gets built: a new YouTube upload posts itself to Discord, a form submission opens a task, a purchase adds someone to a list. It matters most when the tools you already pay for do not talk to each other and the alternative is doing it by hand every week. Pricing counts tasks rather than seats, so cost follows how much actually runs.
Our note
Count the tasks a workflow will actually consume before picking a tier, because a busy trigger can burn a month's allowance in a week. Start on the free plan and let the first thing you hit tell you which limit matters.
Pick Make if you want to see the data flow through each step while building, and real branches and loops rather than a straight line of triggers and actions. Core is $12 a month billed annually, cheaper than Zapier's equivalent tier, with a permanent free plan underneath it.
Pick Zapier if you want the largest app integration library and a simpler mental model to start with: this event triggers that action. Free covers 100 tasks a month, and Professional is $19.99 a month billed annually, pricier than Make's Core plan, but often the first automation tool people reach for because of how many apps it already connects.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Project Management, DM & Comment Automation | Project Management, DM & Comment Automation |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.