Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Loom records a screen and a face and hands back a video link, free on Starter or $18 a member a month on Business. Scribe records a process once and turns it into a written, numbered guide with screenshots, free for the last 25 guides or $25 a month for one seat, cheaper at $13 a seat once a team of five signs up. The deliverable is what decides this. Loom produces something to watch. Scribe produces something to read and follow step by step.
Loom | Scribe | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $18 | From $25 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Not stated |
Screen recordings that go out as a link
Loom records your screen and your face together and hands you a link the moment you stop, so the thing you would have written three paragraphs about arrives as a two minute video instead. Viewers can reply on a timestamp rather than describing where they got confused. Editing is trimming and little else, so a cut that needs more than that belongs somewhere else.
Our note
Loom is for the video nobody would otherwise have made. Buy it for correspondence rather than publishing, and check the free plan's length limit against the way you actually explain things before paying for anything.
Only on this side
Step-by-step guides captured as you click
Scribe records a process while somebody does it once and turns it into a written guide with screenshots, numbered and ready to hand over. That is the documentation nobody writes, produced as a side effect of the work. Redaction and branding are paid features, and the free plan is capped at the last 25 guides you edited.
Pick Loom if the point is a video someone watches: a walkthrough, feedback on a draft, an update recorded once and sent as a link. Starter is free with limits on length, and Business at $18 a member a month removes them along with viewer insights showing who actually watched.
Pick Scribe if the deliverable is a written process a contractor, client or new hire will follow step by step, with screenshots captured automatically as you work. Pro Personal is $25 a month for one seat, but Pro Team drops to $13 a seat once five people sign up, so a team of five costs $65 while a team of two on the personal plan pays $50 for it twice.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Everything, in an open format |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web, macOS, Windows |
|---|
| Covers | Screen Recording, Video Hosting | Screen Recording, Project Management |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The five-seat minimum on the cheaper per-seat plan is the thing to notice. One person pays $25, a team of five pays $65, and a team of two pays $50 for the personal plan twice.
Only on this side