Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Kobo Writing Life reaches Kobo's own readers and libraries through OverDrive directly, free to publish with royalties up to 70 percent. StreetLib reaches a wider set of stores beyond the obvious ones, including likely Kobo among them, for $99 a year or $299 once, keeping 85 percent of net revenue, which means StreetLib takes both a fee and a 15 percent share. The axis is the same as any direct-listing-versus-aggregator choice: free but narrow on Kobo directly, paid and broader through StreetLib.
Publish to Kobo and keep your rights
Ebook distribution that states its cut up front
Kobo Writing Life | StreetLib | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Annual only |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
Publish to Kobo and keep your rights
Kobo Writing Life puts a book in front of Rakuten Kobo's readers, and through OverDrive into public libraries, without asking for exclusivity in return. Publishing costs nothing and the author sets the price. For anybody whose first shelf is Amazon this is the obvious second one, and the library route is the part Amazon has no answer to.
Our note
There is no reason not to be on it if you are already selling elsewhere, since it costs nothing and asks for nothing in return. Treat it as a second channel rather than a first: the reader numbers are Amazon's game, and the library route is where Kobo earns its place.
Ebook distribution that states its cut up front
StreetLib distributes ebooks and audiobooks to the stores an author cannot easily reach one by one, and is unusual in charging for the service rather than only taking a share. It publishes what it keeps, which is more than most aggregators do. For an author already selling through Amazon alone, the question is whether the other stores add up to more than the fee.
Choose Kobo Writing Life directly if Kobo's readers and the OverDrive library route are the reach you need, since it costs nothing at all and asks for no exclusivity. Royalties run up to 70 percent depending on the price band, with money going straight to a bank account.
Choose StreetLib once the other stores it reaches, beyond Kobo, add up to more than its fee, since $99 a year or $299 once buys distribution an author cannot easily assemble one retailer at a time. Work out annual net revenue first: below roughly a thousand dollars a year, paying nothing through direct listings and keeping less per sale is still the cheaper route.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 15% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against Draft2Digital, which charges nothing upfront and takes a larger share, this is the better arithmetic for anybody already selling. Work out your annual net revenue: below roughly a thousand dollars a year, paying nothing and giving up more is cheaper.
Only on this side