Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Kobo Writing Life reaches one retailer directly, Kobo's own readers plus library distribution through OverDrive, free to publish with royalties up to 70 percent. PublishDrive reaches Kobo too, but bundled with 50 or more other retailers and 240,000 libraries from one upload, for a subscription starting at $13.99 a month billed annually with 0 percent revenue share on every tier. The axis is scope: Kobo direct costs nothing but only covers one shelf, and PublishDrive costs a subscription to cover dozens at once, including Kobo.
Publish to Kobo and keep your rights
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
Kobo Writing Life | PublishDrive | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $13.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Annual only |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API |
Publish to Kobo and keep your rights
Kobo Writing Life puts a book in front of Rakuten Kobo's readers, and through OverDrive into public libraries, without asking for exclusivity in return. Publishing costs nothing and the author sets the price. For anybody whose first shelf is Amazon this is the obvious second one, and the library route is the part Amazon has no answer to.
Our note
There is no reason not to be on it if you are already selling elsewhere, since it costs nothing and asks for nothing in return. Treat it as a second channel rather than a first: the reader numbers are Amazon's game, and the library route is where Kobo earns its place.
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
PublishDrive charges a subscription and then takes nothing from sales, which inverts the usual aggregator deal and pays off the moment a book sells steadily. One upload reaches over 50 retailers and a library network most authors never get near. Plans are capped by title count, so a back catalogue costs more than a single book does.
Choose Kobo Writing Life alone if Kobo's readers and the library route are the only reach you need right now, since it costs nothing and asks for no exclusivity. It is the obvious second shelf for anybody already on Amazon, without adding a subscription to the mix.
Choose PublishDrive once uploading to Kobo, Apple, Google and dozens of other stores one by one has become the actual bottleneck, since a single upload reaches all of them with 0 percent taken from sales. Work out the crossover first: PublishDrive's Starter plan pays for itself once annual royalties clear roughly the plan cost divided by what a percentage aggregator would otherwise take.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Draft2Digital takes 10 percent and costs nothing up front, so it wins on a book that barely sells and loses on one that does. Work out your annual royalties before choosing: the crossover for the Starter plan is somewhere around $1,700 a year in sales.
Only on this side