Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Ko-fi takes 5 percent from memberships on its free plan, or zero once Gold's $12 a month removes it. Patreon takes 10 percent of member payments with no monthly fee to lower that rate, ever. Both sources put the real question plainly: Patreon costs more everywhere, and what the extra buys is recognition, a listener who already knows what to do when they hear the name, which stops earning its keep once an audience would follow you anywhere else.
Tips, memberships and a shop with no platform cut
Membership tiers and posts for paying supporters
Ko-fi | Patreon | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $12 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Monthly or annual | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
Tips, memberships and a shop with no platform cut
Ko-fi takes nothing from tips on the free plan, which no other platform of its size does. Memberships, commissions and digital downloads all work from the same page. It is lighter than Patreon in every direction, which is often the point.
Our note
The best free option for somebody who mostly gets tipped, and worth weighing against Patreon the moment memberships become the larger half of the income. Do the Gold arithmetic yourself rather than taking the upgrade prompt's word for it.
Only on this side
Membership tiers and posts for paying supporters
Patreon is still where most audiences expect to pay a creator monthly, and that familiarity is worth something. Tiers, member-only posts, and now paid courses and shops. The platform fee is 10 percent of what you earn, before payment processing.
Choose Ko-fi if the platform fee itself is the priority, since 5 percent on the free plan or zero on Gold at $12 a month both undercut Patreon's flat 10 percent. It is lighter than Patreon in every direction, which is fine until a membership business gets large enough to want Patreon's extra structure.
Choose Patreon if the audience already expects to pay a creator monthly there, particularly on YouTube or in podcasting, where naming it needs no explanation. That familiarity is worth the extra cost early on, and its own editorial guidance says plainly that the premium stops earning its keep once your audience would follow you anywhere.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Monetization & Payments, Memberships & Subscriptions, Tips & Donations | Memberships & Subscriptions, Community Platforms, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Twitch | YouTube, Podcast, Discord |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Patreon costs more than Ko-fi and more than running memberships yourself, and what you buy with the difference is recognition: a listener who hears the word already knows what to do. Once an audience would follow you anywhere, that premium stops earning its keep.
Only on this side