Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Klap and Spikes Studio charge almost the same to start, $14 against $14.09 a month, but meter completely different things. Klap sells 100 finished clips a month regardless of how long the source video runs. Spikes Studio sells 3,600 minutes of source video a year, which its own listing works out to about an hour of recording a week, then produces as many clips as fit. Spikes Studio also has a free tier with a watermark; Klap has none at all.
Long videos cut into shorts, priced per clip
Clips cut from streams and long video
Klap | Spikes Studio | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $14 | From $14.09 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Paid subscription | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Long videos cut into shorts, priced per clip
Klap takes a long video and returns vertical clips with the speaker tracked and subtitles burned in. The plan you buy is a number of clips a month rather than a number of hours uploaded, which is the honest way round for anyone whose source videos are long. There is no free plan, so the first look costs money.
Our note
Buy this one when your source material is long and your output is steady. If either is uncertain, 2short.ai's free tier answers the same question for nothing, and OpusClip is the better-known option with a wider set of editing controls.
Only on this side
Clips cut from streams and long video
Spikes Studio finds the moments worth posting in a long recording and cuts them into vertical clips with captions burned on. Plans are metered in minutes of source video a year rather than in clips, so a weekly four-hour stream is the thing to measure before choosing a tier. Free output carries a watermark and stops at 720p, which makes the free plan a demo rather than a workflow.
Choose Klap if a predictable number of finished clips matters more than how long the source recording runs, since 100 clips is 100 clips whether the source is ten minutes or three hours. There is no free tier, so the $14 a month Basic plan is the real cost of finding out if it suits the workflow.
Choose Spikes Studio if trying the workflow for free matters, since the Basic tier gives watermarked 720p clips at no cost. Measure your weekly recording time against the annual minute allowance before paying: 3,600 minutes a year on the $14.09 plan is only about an hour of source video a week, which a busy show can exceed quickly.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Short-Form & Clipping, Video Editing | Short-Form & Clipping, Captions & Subtitles |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Podcast | YouTube, TikTok, Podcast, Twitch |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Measure your weekly recording hours against the annual minute allowance before picking a tier, because 3,600 minutes a year is only about an hour a week. The watermark makes the free plan a demonstration rather than something to publish from.
Only on this side