Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Invoicely's free plan caps at 5 invoices a month for up to 3 clients, with Basic at $9.99 a month raising that to 100 invoices and 25 clients, and no bookkeeping ledger at any tier. Wave's free Starter plan sends unlimited invoices and keeps real double-entry books at the same time, with Pro at $19 a month adding automation and receipt scanning, and card processing charged at 2.9 percent plus 60 cents on either plan. Wave's free plan does more than Invoicely's paid one; the question is only whether Wave's country restrictions on payroll and advisors matter to you.
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Invoicing and bookkeeping that costs nothing
Invoicely | Wave | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $9.99 | From $19 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API | Not stated |
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Invoicely sends invoices, estimates and recurring statements, and tracks time, expenses and mileage against them. The free plan is capped at five invoices a month rather than at a trial period, so a freelancer billing one or two clients never has to pay. Billing in any currency is on every paid tier, which matters if your clients are not all in one country.
Our note
Worth choosing when invoicing is the only accounting job you have. The moment somebody says the word reconciliation, you have outgrown it, and paying $9.99 here plus a real ledger somewhere else costs more than starting on Wave.
Invoicing and bookkeeping that costs nothing
Wave does invoices, receipts and double-entry bookkeeping for free, and earns on card payments and on a paid tier that automates the parts you would otherwise do by hand. For a sole trader sending a dozen invoices a year it is the cheapest honest answer. Payroll and the advisor service exist in some countries only, which is worth checking before a whole tax year lives in it.
Pick Invoicely if invoicing is genuinely the only accounting job and multi-currency billing matters, since that sits on every paid tier from $9.99 a month. Its free plan is real but narrow: 5 invoices a month is a hard cap for anyone billing more than a couple of clients.
Pick Wave once bookkeeping needs to be more than invoices, since the free Starter plan already includes double-entry accounts with no invoice cap. Paying $9.99 a month for Invoicely's Basic plan and a separate ledger elsewhere costs more than starting on Wave for free, which is the comparison worth running before choosing Invoicely at all.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Free accounting that is genuinely accounting, which is rare enough to be worth the check it needs: confirm that payments and payroll are supported where you live before a tax year is built on it.
Only on this side