Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Invoice Ninja gives away unlimited invoicing to up to 5 clients for free, with Pro at $14 a month billed monthly lifting that client cap and adding branding and automation. Invoicely's free plan caps at 5 invoices a month total, regardless of client count, with Basic at $9.99 a month raising that to 100 invoices and 25 clients. The free tiers are shaped differently: Invoice Ninja limits by how many clients you serve, Invoicely limits by how many invoices you send.
Open-source invoicing, free for 5 clients
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Invoice Ninja | Invoicely | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $14 | From $9.99 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Open-source invoicing, free for 5 clients
Invoice Ninja issues invoices, quotes and recurring bills, takes payment through a long list of gateways, and gives the whole thing away for up to five clients with no time limit and no invoice cap. The application is open source, so anybody who would rather hold their own data can run it on their own server instead of paying for the hosted version. Paying lifts the client limit and adds the branding and automation a business wants. Five clients is the ceiling that decides it, and it arrives sooner than most people expect.
Our note
Count your clients rather than your invoices, because that is the limit that actually bites and it arrives sooner than the free plan suggests. Self-host only if you were going to maintain a server anyway, since the hosted Pro plan costs less than the hours will.
Only on this side
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Pick Invoice Ninja if client count stays small and steady, since the free plan sends unlimited invoices to up to 5 clients forever. It is also open source, so self-hosting is an option for anybody who would rather not keep client financials on someone else's server.
Pick Invoicely if invoice volume is what matters more than client count, or multi-currency billing is needed for clients who do not all pay in dollars. Basic starts at $9.99 a month, cheaper than Invoice Ninja's $14 Pro plan, for 100 invoices and 25 clients, though Invoicely has no self-hosting option at all.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Creator Finance, Accounting & Tax | Accounting & Tax |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Worth choosing when invoicing is the only accounting job you have. The moment somebody says the word reconciliation, you have outgrown it, and paying $9.99 here plus a real ledger somewhere else costs more than starting on Wave.