Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
IngramSpark puts a physical book into the catalogue bookshops and libraries order from, free to set up with printing charged per copy once a title's specification is finalised. PublishDrive is built around ebooks, uploading once to more than 50 retailers and 240,000 libraries for a flat subscription rather than a cut of royalties, free for one book and 3 channels or from $13.99 a month billed annually for three books and 50 channels. IngramSpark charges by the copy printed; PublishDrive charges by the title held on its plan and takes nothing from what each one sells.
Print a book into the retail supply chain
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
IngramSpark | PublishDrive | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Not listed | From $13.99 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Annual only |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Print a book into the retail supply chain
IngramSpark is how an independent author gets a physical book into the catalogue bookshops and libraries actually order from, which Amazon's own printing does not do on the same terms. Setup costs nothing now, print is charged per copy, and the distribution reach is the reason to be here rather than the interface. Returns, discounts and trim sizes are decisions with real money attached, and the site is better at listing them than at explaining them.
Our note
Use the print cost calculator before finalising a page count, because trim size and paper choices move the unit cost enough to decide whether the book is profitable. Most authors list on both IngramSpark and KDP, using one for reach and the other for Amazon margin.
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
PublishDrive charges a subscription and then takes nothing from sales, which inverts the usual aggregator deal and pays off the moment a book sells steadily. One upload reaches over 50 retailers and a library network most authors never get near. Plans are capped by title count, so a back catalogue costs more than a single book does.
Pick IngramSpark when the point is a physical book bookshops and libraries can order through normal retail channels, with wholesale discounts and returns set the way the trade expects. There is no subscription. The cost is per printed copy, based on trim size, page count and binding.
Pick PublishDrive when ebooks across many retailers and a library network are the priority and a subscription beats a royalty cut. Starter is $13.99 a month billed annually for 3 books and 50 channels, with 0 percent revenue share on every tier, so the plan is the entire cost. A single title that barely sells may not clear the subscription price, worth working out before committing to a tier built for a back catalogue.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Draft2Digital takes 10 percent and costs nothing up front, so it wins on a book that barely sells and loses on one that does. Work out your annual royalties before choosing: the crossover for the Starter plan is somewhere around $1,700 a year in sales.
Only on this side