Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Imagen trains a profile on your own past edits and applies it automatically to new shoots, priced per photo: $0.05 each on a $7 monthly base, after 1,000 free edits. ON1 Photo RAW is manual editing software, raw processing, layers and retouching, bought once for $99.99 covering two computers, with no recurring bill at all. The axis is automation against ownership: Imagen edits for you at a per-photo cost that scales with volume, while ON1 is software you operate yourself and pay for exactly once.
Imagen | ON1 Photo RAW | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $7 | From $99.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | One-time purchase |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | One-time purchase |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Your own editing style applied by the photo
Imagen trains a personal profile on a few thousand of a photographer's own edited images and then applies it to new shoots, priced per photo rather than per month. Culling, cropping and retouching are add-ons on the same meter. Paying by the photo suits an uneven year better than a subscription does, and the first thousand edits cost nothing.
Our note
Against Aftershoot the split is billing rather than quality: this charges per photo and that charges per year. Work out your annual volume and the answer falls out, and remember the beta-priced extras here are not permanent.
Raw editing and layers, bought once
ON1 Photo RAW covers browsing, raw processing, retouching, layers and masks in one application, which is the pitch: the two Adobe programs most photographers rent, without renting them. It runs on your own machine and keeps working when you stop paying, because there is nothing to stop paying. The catalogue handling is the part that divides people.
Our note
Choose Imagen if the job is culling and editing volume, weddings, events, anything with an uneven year, since paying by the photo means a quiet month costs almost nothing beyond the $7 base fee. The base fee alone matches ON1's entire one-time price after about fourteen months, so work out your annual photo count before assuming usage billing is the cheaper choice.
Choose ON1 Photo RAW if you would rather operate the editor yourself and stop renting one, since $99.99 buys raw processing, layers and masks outright with a year of updates included and nothing further to pay unless you choose to upgrade. It keeps working after you stop paying, because there is nothing left to pay. Catalogue handling is the part that divides opinion, so try it against your own library before buying.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | macOS, Windows | macOS, Windows |
|---|
| Covers | Photo Editing | Photo Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Now that Affinity is free, the case for paying anything at all for photo editing has narrowed to catalog handling and raw processing, which is exactly where ON1 is stronger. Try both before spending the money.