Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
IFTTT connects one trigger to one action for consumer apps and devices, free for a handful of applets or $2.99 a month for more. Zapier connects far more business tools and lets one trigger fan out into several actions, free for 100 tasks a month and then $29.99 a month billed monthly, or $19.99 if paid yearly. The difference is depth: IFTTT stops at one step, and Zapier chains several while reaching deeper into the apps a creator's business actually runs on.
One trigger, one action, and it costs almost nothing
Wire the tools together without writing code
IFTTT | Zapier | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $2.99 | From $29.99 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
One trigger, one action, and it costs almost nothing
IFTTT connects one service's event to another service's action and stops there, which is either the limitation or the point. It reaches consumer things the business automation tools ignore, including smart home devices, phone settings and a long tail of small apps. For a creator it covers the small jobs: a new video posts itself somewhere, a saved item lands in a note, a schedule flips a light before a stream. The free plan allows a couple of applets and the paid tier costs less than a coffee a month.
Wire the tools together without writing code
Zapier connects one app's event to another app's action, which is how most creator plumbing gets built: a new YouTube upload posts itself to Discord, a form submission opens a task, a purchase adds someone to a list. It matters most when the tools you already pay for do not talk to each other and the alternative is doing it by hand every week. Pricing counts tasks rather than seats, so cost follows how much actually runs.
Our note
Count the tasks a workflow will actually consume before picking a tier, because a busy trigger can burn a month's allowance in a week. Start on the free plan and let the first thing you hit tell you which limit matters.
Pick IFTTT for a single, small connection, especially anything involving a phone or a smart device that Zapier does not really target. Pro is $2.99 a month, a fraction of Zapier's entry price, and the applet model takes a minute to set up because it deliberately does less.
Pick Zapier once a chore needs more than one step, or the free tier's 100 tasks a month stop covering the volume. Professional is $29.99 a month billed monthly, or $19.99 billed yearly, roughly ten times IFTTT's Pro price, and it buys multi-step workflows, tables and forms that IFTTT has no version of. Somebody automating a single reflex action is overpaying here; somebody chaining five apps together is not.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web |
|---|
| Covers | DM & Comment Automation, Project Management | Project Management, DM & Comment Automation |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.