Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
IFTTT connects one trigger to one action and nothing more, reaching consumer things like smart home devices and phone settings that business automation tools skip, free for a small applet allowance or $2.99 a month for more. Make builds automations on a visual canvas with branches, loops and error handling that IFTTT cannot draw at all, free with no time limit for a modest operations allowance, or from $12 a month if paid annually. The choice is between a $2.99 tool for small, single-step jobs and a visual builder for anything with real logic in it.
IFTTT | Make | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $2.99 | From $12 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
One trigger, one action, and it costs almost nothing
IFTTT connects one service's event to another service's action and stops there, which is either the limitation or the point. It reaches consumer things the business automation tools ignore, including smart home devices, phone settings and a long tail of small apps. For a creator it covers the small jobs: a new video posts itself somewhere, a saved item lands in a note, a schedule flips a light before a stream. The free plan allows a couple of applets and the paid tier costs less than a coffee a month.
Automation you can see as a diagram
Make wires apps together on a canvas where each step is a node you can watch data move through, which is why people who bounced off text-based automation tools tend to stay. Branches, loops and error handlers are all drawable rather than configured in a form. For a creator it is the thing that files a new upload, posts the announcement and adds the sponsor to a tracker without anybody opening three tabs. Billing counts operations rather than seats, so cost follows how much actually runs.
Pick IFTTT for a small, single-step connection, especially anything touching a phone or a smart home device that heavier platforms tend to skip. Pro is $2.99 a month paid monthly, with no discount for committing to a year despite what the page advertises: the annual total is exactly twelve times the monthly rate.
Pick Make once a workflow needs a branch, a loop or a step that only runs after another one fails. Core starts at $12 a month, but that rate needs annual billing; Make does not publish what paying month to month costs. Its free plan has no time limit either way, which is enough room to build a real scenario before deciding.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web |
|---|
| Covers | DM & Comment Automation, Project Management | Project Management, DM & Comment Automation |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.