Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
HoneyBook runs the whole client relationship, enquiry, proposal, contract and invoice, in one pipeline, from $29 a month billed yearly with a 60-day refund but no free plan. Invoice Ninja is narrower and cheaper: invoices, quotes and recurring bills only, free for up to five clients with unlimited invoicing, or self-hosted since it is open source. Pick HoneyBook if the proposal and contract stage is real work you are doing by hand. Pick Invoice Ninja if invoicing is the only piece missing.
Enquiry to contract to paid invoice
Open-source invoicing, free for 5 clients
HoneyBook | Invoice Ninja | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $14 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Enquiry to contract to paid invoice
HoneyBook keeps a client from first enquiry through proposal, contract and payment in one place, which is aimed squarely at people who currently run that sequence across a form, a document and an invoicing app. Payments are taken inside it at a stated card rate, with a faster payout available for a fee. The plans differ on automation and team seats rather than on whether the basics are there. Anybody whose work is not project-shaped will be paying for a pipeline they do not have.
Our note
The 60-day refund is worth more than the trial, because two months is long enough to run real clients through it and a trial week is not. Compare against Dubsado on automation specifically, since that is the axis these two actually differ on and both cover the paperwork equally well.
Open-source invoicing, free for 5 clients
Invoice Ninja issues invoices, quotes and recurring bills, takes payment through a long list of gateways, and gives the whole thing away for up to five clients with no time limit and no invoice cap. The application is open source, so anybody who would rather hold their own data can run it on their own server instead of paying for the hosted version. Paying lifts the client limit and adds the branding and automation a business wants. Five clients is the ceiling that decides it, and it arrives sooner than most people expect.
Pick HoneyBook if client work moves through a repeating sequence, enquiry, proposal, contract, payment, and you are currently stitching that together across a form, a document and a separate invoicing app. Starter is $29 a month billed yearly, with payments at 2.9 percent plus 25 cents, and a 60-day full refund makes it low risk to run real clients through before committing.
Pick Invoice Ninja if invoicing, quotes and recurring bills are the whole job, with no proposal or contract stage to manage. Free covers up to five clients with unlimited invoicing, and Pro at $14 a month lifts that ceiling and adds branding and automation. Being open source, it can run on your own server instead of a hosted plan, which HoneyBook does not offer at all.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Everything, in an open format |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Creator Finance | Creator Finance, Accounting & Tax |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Count your clients rather than your invoices, because that is the limit that actually bites and it arrives sooner than the free plan suggests. Self-host only if you were going to maintain a server anyway, since the hosted Pro plan costs less than the hours will.
Only on this side