Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
HoneyBook runs a client from first enquiry through proposal, contract and paid invoice, starting at $29 a month billed yearly with no free tier, backed by a 60-day full refund. Indy does the same paperwork for one freelancer at a time, with a real free plan covering three of each document a month, and its $12.50 a month Pro Bundle is actually billed as $300 every two years. The axis is volume and commitment: HoneyBook suits a small studio with a steady flow of projects, and Indy suits somebody taking a handful of client deals a year who is willing to lock in for two years to go unlimited.
HoneyBook | Indy | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $12.50 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 7 days |
| API |
Enquiry to contract to paid invoice
HoneyBook keeps a client from first enquiry through proposal, contract and payment in one place, which is aimed squarely at people who currently run that sequence across a form, a document and an invoicing app. Payments are taken inside it at a stated card rate, with a faster payout available for a fee. The plans differ on automation and team seats rather than on whether the basics are there. Anybody whose work is not project-shaped will be paying for a pipeline they do not have.
Our note
The 60-day refund is worth more than the trial, because two months is long enough to run real clients through it and a trial week is not. Compare against Dubsado on automation specifically, since that is the axis these two actually differ on and both cover the paperwork equally well.
Contracts and invoices for a solo freelancer
Indy puts proposals, contracts, invoices, time tracking and a client portal in one place, priced for one person rather than for a firm. The free plan allows three of each a month, which fits somebody taking a handful of brand deals a year. Anybody past that will hit the cap in a week and the paid tier is billed two years at a time.
Choose HoneyBook if client work is a steady stream rather than a handful of deals, and the automation on the $49 or $109 tier is worth it to you. There is no free plan, but the 60-day refund is long enough to run real clients through it, which a trial week never is.
Choose Indy if you take a handful of brand deals a year and the free plan's three proposals, contracts and invoices a month cover it, since paying at all means committing $300 for two years rather than month to month. Anybody signing several deals a month will hit that free cap in a week and should read the two-year term before upgrading.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Creator Finance | Legal & Contracts, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Bonsai does the same job with better templates and costs more. Indy is the one to pick if the free tier covers your volume, and the two-year lock is the reason to think twice about the paid one.
Only on this side