Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreshBooks is $23 a month for five billable clients once the 30-day trial ends, with real double-entry accounting behind the invoice. Invoicely stays free for five invoices a month and three clients with no expiry, then $9.99 a month for a hundred invoices, cheaper than FreshBooks at every comparable tier. The trade is depth: FreshBooks keeps real books behind the invoice, Invoicely only sends invoices and tracks time, expenses and mileage against them.
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
FreshBooks | Invoicely | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $23 | From $9.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API |
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting wearing a friendly invoice app, which is the right shape for somebody who bills a handful of clients and dreads January. Time tracking and expenses feed the invoice directly. Client limits on the cheap plan are the thing that pushes people up a tier.
Our note
Wave does invoicing and bookkeeping free and is enough for most creators. Pay for FreshBooks when the client count, the retainers or the proposals are the reason, not because it looks more serious.
Only on this side
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Invoicely sends invoices, estimates and recurring statements, and tracks time, expenses and mileage against them. The free plan is capped at five invoices a month rather than at a trial period, so a freelancer billing one or two clients never has to pay. Billing in any currency is on every paid tier, which matters if your clients are not all in one country.
Pick FreshBooks if you need actual bookkeeping, not just invoices: double-entry accounts, tax-time reports and accountant access from the Plus plan up. Lite is $23 a month for five billable clients, more than double Invoicely's cheapest paid tier, and that gap buys real accounting rather than a document generator.
Pick Invoicely if invoicing is the whole job. The free plan covers five invoices a month and three clients with no expiry, and Basic at $9.99 a month raises that to a hundred invoices and twenty-five clients, still cheaper than FreshBooks' entry tier. The moment reconciliation or a tax filing enters the picture, this stops being enough and a real ledger elsewhere becomes the actual cost.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Worth choosing when invoicing is the only accounting job you have. The moment somebody says the word reconciliation, you have outgrown it, and paying $9.99 here plus a real ledger somewhere else costs more than starting on Wave.