Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreshBooks charges $23 a month for five billable clients once its 30-day trial ends. Invoice Ninja gives five clients away free, forever, with unlimited invoicing, and charges just $14 a month, still less than FreshBooks' entry price, once you need more than five or want branding and automation. It is also open source, so a business that would rather not store client financials on a vendor's server can self-host it instead.
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
Open-source invoicing, free for 5 clients
FreshBooks | Invoice Ninja | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $23 | From $14 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API |
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting wearing a friendly invoice app, which is the right shape for somebody who bills a handful of clients and dreads January. Time tracking and expenses feed the invoice directly. Client limits on the cheap plan are the thing that pushes people up a tier.
Our note
Wave does invoicing and bookkeeping free and is enough for most creators. Pay for FreshBooks when the client count, the retainers or the proposals are the reason, not because it looks more serious.
Open-source invoicing, free for 5 clients
Invoice Ninja issues invoices, quotes and recurring bills, takes payment through a long list of gateways, and gives the whole thing away for up to five clients with no time limit and no invoice cap. The application is open source, so anybody who would rather hold their own data can run it on their own server instead of paying for the hosted version. Paying lifts the client limit and adds the branding and automation a business wants. Five clients is the ceiling that decides it, and it arrives sooner than most people expect.
Pick FreshBooks if you want a polished, fully hosted product with double-entry accounting, tax-time reports and accountant access built in, and you are already past five clients. Lite is $23 a month for five billable clients, Plus is $43 for fifty, and the client count is what actually forces the upgrade, not the feature list.
Pick Invoice Ninja if five clients or fewer covers your business, since that tier is free forever with no invoice cap, or if you would rather self-host client financial data than trust a vendor's server. Pro is $14 a month once you outgrow five clients, still $9 less than FreshBooks' cheapest paid tier, and Enterprise scales by user count up to $300 a month for large teams.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Everything, in an open format |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Creator Finance, Accounting & Tax |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Count your clients rather than your invoices, because that is the limit that actually bites and it arrives sooner than the free plan suggests. Self-host only if you were going to maintain a server anyway, since the hosted Pro plan costs less than the hours will.