Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Freelancer.com sells bid allowance through paid memberships, from $4.99 a month for 50 bids, on top of a project fee not listed on the membership page. Upwork is free to join and hire, with freelancers paying a service fee that Upwork states ranges from 0 to 15 percent per contract, fixed and shown before a proposal goes in. The real difference is scale: Upwork's listing calls it the largest pool of freelancers, the reason to start there before paying Freelancer.com for more bids.
Bidding for freelance work at scale
The freelance marketplace with the deepest bench
Freelancer.com | Upwork | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $4.99 | Not listed |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Bidding for freelance work at scale
Freelancer.com runs on bids, and the volume is the point: there is always work posted, at every level of budget and quality. Contests let a designer submit speculative work and get paid only if it wins. Rates run low and the bid allowance on the free account runs out fast, which is what the membership tiers sell back to you.
The freelance marketplace with the deepest bench
Upwork is where a creator goes to hire an editor, a thumbnail designer or a virtual assistant without knowing one already, and where a lot of those people find their first clients. Volume is the argument for it. The service fee comes off the freelancer's side and varies per contract, which makes rate comparison harder than it looks.
Only on this side
Pick Freelancer.com if you want contests as well as bids, letting a designer submit speculative work and get paid only if it wins, useful for a portfolio with no track record yet. Basic membership is $4.99 a month for 50 bids, rising to $9.99 for 100 on Plus, though the project fee on completed work needs checking separately since the listing does not list it.
Pick Upwork if scale is what you need. It is free to join and hire, and its listing describes it as having the larger freelancer pool of the two, useful for a creator hiring their first editor or thumbnail designer with nobody in mind yet. Freelancers pay 0 to 15 percent per contract, shown before they submit a proposal, so the cut is visible before either side commits.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.