Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Freelancer.com is bid-based freelance work at high volume, free to join with Basic membership at $4.99 a month for 50 bids; its project fee on completed work is not published on the membership page, so budget time to find it before committing. Guru is a smaller marketplace where the job fee drops from 9 percent on the free Basic tier to 5 percent on the $49.95 Executive plan. The real choice is volume against a fee you can see: Freelancer.com has far more postings, Guru tells you the cut upfront.
Freelancer.com | Guru | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $4.99 | From $11.95 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Bidding for freelance work at scale
Freelancer.com runs on bids, and the volume is the point: there is always work posted, at every level of budget and quality. Contests let a designer submit speculative work and get paid only if it wins. Rates run low and the bid allowance on the free account runs out fast, which is what the membership tiers sell back to you.
Freelance marketplace with a lower job fee
Guru is an older freelance marketplace whose job fee drops as the membership tier rises, which is a different bet from the platforms that take a flat cut. Its SafePay escrow holds the client's money before work starts. Volume is well below Upwork's, so it works as a second source of leads rather than as the only one.
Our note
The break-even is arithmetic worth doing once. Executive costs $49.95 and saves four points against the free plan's 9 percent, so it pays for itself at roughly $1,250 of monthly earnings. Below that, Basic is the better plan.
Pick Freelancer.com if you are new and need volume: work posts around the clock at every budget, and contests let a designer get paid on speculative work that wins. Basic membership is $4.99 a month for 50 bids, cheaper than any paid tier Guru offers, but check the project fee on completed work separately since the listing does not list it on the membership page.
Pick Guru if you already win work elsewhere and want a lower, published cut as a second source of leads: 9 percent free, falling to 5 percent on the $49.95 Executive plan. The math favors upgrading once monthly earnings pass roughly $1,250. Job volume is well below Freelancer.com's, so it is a poor choice as somebody's only marketplace.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export |
|---|
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | Not stated | 9% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers | Hiring & Freelancers |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.